Italy - Footballer of the Year

Guerin d'Oro | AIC Oscar del Calcio

Guerin d'Oro

Since the 1975-76 season the Italian weekly magazine "Guerin' Sportivo" gives awards to the best player, best trainer and best referee from Serie A. The awards are given based on the weekly ratings given by the Italian media during each week of the season. Any Serie A player, no matter their citizenship, is eligible.

List of Winners

Year      Player  (Club)             
1975/76   Claudio SALA  (Torino)
1976/77   Claudio SALA  (Torino)
1977/78   Roberto FILIPPI  (Lanerossi Vicenza)
1978/79   Roberto FILIPPI  (Napoli)
1979/80   Luciano CASTELLINI  (Napoli)
1980/81   Ruud KROL [Netherlands]  (Napoli)
1981/82   Franco CAUSIO  (Udinese)
1982/83   Pietro VIERCHOWOD  (Roma)
1983/84   Michel PLATINI [France]  (Juventus)
1984/85   Diego MARADONA [Argentina]  (Napoli)
1985/86   Renato ZACCARELLI  (Torino)
1986/87   Walter ZENGA  (Internazionale)
1987/88   Roberto MANCINI  (Sampdoria)
1988/89   Andreas BREHME [West Germany]  (Internazionale)
1989/90   Franco BARESI  (Milan)
1990/91   Roberto MANCINI  (Sampdoria)
1991/92   Frank RIJKAARD [Netherlands]  (Milan)
1992/93   Giuseppe SIGNORI  (Lazio)
1993/94   Daniele MASSARO  (Milan)
1994/95   PAULO Manuel Carvalho SOUSA [Portugal]  (Juventus)
1995/96   Enrico CHIESA  (Sampdoria)
1996/97   Gianluca PAGLIUCA  (Internazionale)
          Angelo PERUZZI  (Juventus)
          Lilian THURAM [France]  (Parma)
1997/98   Francesco TOTTI  (Roma)
1998/99   Matías ALMEYDA [Argentina]  (Lazio)
1999/00   Sebastien FREY [France]  (Verona Hellas)
2000/01   Roberto BAGGIO  (Brescia)
2001/02   Christian VIERI  (Internazionale)
2002/03   Pavel NEDVED [Czech Republic]  (Juventus)
2003/04   Francesco TOTTI  (Roma)
2004/05   Gianluca PAGLIUCA  (Bologna)
2005/06   Luca TONI  (Fiorentina)
2006/07   Adrian MUTU [Romania]  (Fiorentina)
2007/08   Mauro German CAMORANESI  (Juventus)
2008/09   Diego MILITO [Argentina] (Genoa)
2009-12     not awarded
2012/13   Andrea PIRLO (Juventus)
2013/14   Carlos TEVEZ [Argentina] (Juventus)

1. For foreign players, the country of origin is right after player’s name.
2. In 1997 three players shared the award.

AIC Oscar del Calcio

These awards are given by Italian players association since 1997.

List of Winners

Year      Player                             (Club)

1996/97   Roberto MANCINI                    (Sampdoria)
1997/98   RONALDO Luis Nazario de Lima (Bra) (Internazionale)
1998/99   Christian VIERI                    (Lazio)
1999/00   Francesco TOTTI                    (Roma)
2000/01   Zinedine ZIDANE (Fra)              (Juventus)
2001/02   David TREZEGUET (Fra)              (Juventus)
2002/03   Pavel NEDVED (Cze)                 (Juventus)
          Francesco TOTTI                    (Roma)
2003/04   I. Santos Leite Ricardo KAKA (Bra) (Milan)
2004/05   Alberto GILARDINO                  (Parma)
2005/06   Fabio CANNAVARO                    (Juventus)
2006/07   I. Santos Leite Ricardo KAKA (Bra) (Milan)   
2007/08   Zlatan IBRAHIMOVIC (Swe)           (Internazionale)
2008/09   Zlatan IBRAHIMOVIC (Swe)           (Internazionale) 
2009/10   Diego MILITO (Arg)                 (Internazionale)
2010/11   Zlatan IBRAHIMOVIC (Swe)           (Milan)
2011/12   Andrea PIRLO                       (Juventus)
2012/13   Andrea PIRLO                       (Juventus)
2013/14   Andrea PIRLO                       (Juventus)

About this document

With thanks to Giacomo Giusti

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend and Roberto Di Maggio for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: José Luis Pierrend and Roberto Di Maggio
Last updated: 8 Jan 2015

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend, Roberto Di Maggio and RSSSF 2001/15
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.