African Games

The African Games are open to all the nations on the continent of Africa. The francophone African Friendship Games held in the early sixties can be considered a forerunner of the event. Since 1987 the games have been held on a quadrennial schedule. Since 1991 it is an U-23 competition. In 2003 a women's competition was added for the first time. The ANOCA (Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa) decided the hosts.


Year City         Country      Champions    Runners-up     Third

1965 Brazzaville  Congo        Congo    0-0 Mali     [*1]  Ivory Coast
1973 Lagos        Nigeria      Nigeria  2-0 Guinea         Egypt
1978 Algiers      Algeria      Algeria  1-0 Nigeria        Ghana
1987 Nairobi      Kenya        Egypt    1-0 Kenya          Malawi
1991 Cairo        Egypt        Cameroon 1-0 Tunisia        Nigeria
1995 Harare       Zimbabwe     Egypt    3-1 Zimbabwe       Nigeria
1999 Johannesburg South Africa Cameroon 0-0 Zambia   [*2]  South Africa
2003 Abuja        Nigeria      Cameroon 2-0 Nigeria        Ghana
2007   various    Algeria      Cameroon 1-0 Guinea         Tunisia

[*1] Congo won 7-2 on corner kicks
[*2] Cameroon won 4-3 on penalties

Medal Ranking

                    G S B
Cameroon            4
Egypt               2   1
Nigeria             1 2 2
Algeria             1
Congo(-Brazzaville) 1
Guinea                2
Tunisia               1 1
Kenya                 1
Mali                  1
Zambia                1
Zimbabwe              1
Ghana                   2
Ivory Coast             1
Malawi                  1
South Africa            1

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Osvaldo José Gorgazzi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Osvaldo José Gorgazzi
Last updated: 28 Feb 2013

(C) Copyright Osvaldo José Gorgazzi and RSSSF 1999/2013
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.