Angola - List of Foundation Dates

1915  3 May Sporting Clube Petróleos do Bié (Kuito)          
            Sporting Clube de Benguela 
1919 24 Jun Ginásio Clube da Torre do Tombo                [*3]
            Independente Sport Clube (Tômbwa)                   [founded as Independente Sport Clube
1920        Sporting Clube de Luanda                              de Porto Alexandre]
1922        Sport e Benfica (Luanda)                            [merged 1980 with Grupo Sonangol and Clube Atlético
            Sporting Clube de Lubango                            de Luanda to Atlético Petróleos de Luanda]
     14 Jun Atlético Clube de Namibe                       [*1] [founded as Aristocrata Club]    
      1 Jul Sporting Clube de Namibe                       [*2] [founded as Sporting Club Leitão] 
1924        Clube Atlético de Luanda                            [merged 1980 with Grupo Sonangol and Sport e Benfica 
                                                                 to Atlético Petróleos de Luanda]
1925 25 Aug Sporting Clube de Cabinda                           [founded as Sporting Club de Cabinda,
                                                                 renamed Sporting Clube Petróleos de Cabinda 1975]
1930  1 Dec Clube Desportivo Ferroviário do Huambo           
1931        Sport Huambo e Benfica (Huambo)                                            
1932 15 Aug Vitória Atlético Clube do Bié (Kuito)               
1936 10 Sep Sport Namibe e Benfica (Namibe)                [*3] [founded as Sport Lisboa e Mossãmedes] 
1941        Sporting Clube do Lobito                            [founded as Lobito Sports Club] 
1942        Grupo Desportivo Recreativo do Libolo (Calulo)
1944 24-Jun Clube Recreativo de Caála                   
1950        Sport Lubango e Benfica (Lubango)                   [founded as Deportivo de Chela]  
1953        Grupo Desportivo Atlético Sport Aviação (Luanda) 
1955        Atlético Petróleos do Huambo                        [as Atlético de Nova Lisboa or
            Estrela Clube Primeiro de Maio (Benguela)            Desportivo Sonangol]
            Futebol Clube de Cabinda  
1963        Clube Académica Social Escola do Zangado (Luanda)
1974        Académica Petróleos do Lobito  
1975 17-Nov Progresso Associação Sambizanga (Luanda)            [merger of Juventude Unida do Bairro Alfredo,
1976 22-Dec Grupo Desportivo Sagrada Esperança (Dundo)           Juventista and Vaza]
1977        Clube Deportivo Primeiro de Agosto (Luanda)         
1978  3-Mar Clube Desportivo Construtores do Uíge             
      3-Mar Esperança Real FC do Congo (M'banza-Congo)        
1979 22-Jun Grupo Desportivo Interclube (Luanda)             
1980  5-Jan Atlético Petróleos do Huambo                        [merger of Atlético de Nova Lisboa and Desportivo Sonangol]
     14-Jan Atlético Petróleos de Luanda                        [merger of Sport e Benfica, Clube Atlético de Luanda and Grupo Sonangol]     
1983 27-Jul Futebol Clube Bravos di Maqui (Luena)             
1986        Atlético Desportivo Petróleos do Namibe (Moçâmedes)
1987        Académia Petróleos do Kwanda (Soyo)
1994        Kabuscorp Sport Clube do Palanca (Luanda)        
1998  7-Mar Clube Desportivo da Huíla (Lubango)
     12-May Jorge Gomes Mangrinha Académica Sport Clube do Huambo 
2002 13-Jun Progresso da Luanda Sul (Saurimo)                     
            Santos Futebol Clube de Angola (Luanda)
2005 14-Feb Clube Desportivo Ngueto Maka (Uíge)   
2008  1-Oct Malanje Sport Clube (Malanje)      
2009  3-May Grupo Desportivo Renascimento (Uíge)      
     12-May Cuando Cubango Futebol Clube (Menongue)     
2011 27-Feb União Sport Clube do Uíge                
            Jackson Garcia FC (Benguela)
2012 25-Sep ASK Dragão                            
2014  8-Oct Ismael Futebol Clube (Uíge)                         
2015 29-Aug Santa Rita de Cássica (Uíge)                         
[*1] Aristocrata Club, founded 14 Jun 1922 as the third club of the Moçâmedes
     district (after Ginásio Clube da Torre do Tombo and Independente Sport
     Clube de Porto Alexandre), became known as Royal Atlético Clube; following
     a legal interdiction to use that name they were renamed Atlético Clube de
     Moçâmedes on 14 Jul 1922; this club later became known as Atlético Clube 
     de Namibe after independence when town and district of Moçâmedes were 
     renamed Namibe.
[*2] Sporting Club Leitão were founded on 1 Jul 1922, renamed Sporting Clube
     de Portugal on 2 Aug 1922 and Sporting Club de Moçâmedes on 22 May 1923;
     this club later became known as Sporting Clube de Namibe after independence
     when town and district of Moçâmedes were renamed Namibe.
[*3] following a conflict between a number of players and directors of Ginásio
     Clube da Torre do Tombo, the players founded Sport Lisboa e Mossãmedes
     on 10 Sep 1936, later renamed Sport Moçâmedes e Benfica; this club later
     became known as Sport Namibe e Benfica after independence when town and
     district of Moçâmedes were renamed Namibe.

About this document


Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 6 Jan 2022

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2010/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.