Argentina - List of Champions of Reserves of First Division

The Reserves (also known as teams II) played in the Second Division
championship since 1899 to 1908. They were merged with the second level teams.
This division was split in 1910 in two different leagues:
Reserves from First Division A and Second Division (later, Division B).

Champions of Reserve from First Division A

         Champion                Dissident association

1910     River Plate
1911     River Plate
1912     Racing Club             Independiente (A)
1913     Ferro Carril Oeste (BA) (Not played)
1914     Quilmes                 Independiente (A)
1915     River Plate
1916     River Plate
1917     Independiente (A)
1918     Boca Juniors
1919     Boca Juniors            Racing Club
1920     Sportivo Barracas       River Plate
1921     Sportivo Palermo        Independiente (A)
1922     (Not played)            San Lorenzo de Almagro
1923     (Not played)            Independiente (A)
1924     Boca Juniors            San Lorenzo de Almagro
1925     El Porvenir             Ferro Carril Oeste (BA)
1926     Boca Juniors            Vélez Sarsfield
1927     Vélez Sarsfield
1928     Boca Juniors
1929     Gimnasia y Esgrima LP
1930     Boca Juniors                  
1931     Sportivo Buenos Aires   Racing Club
1932     Barracas Central        Huracán (BA)
1933     Sportivo Dock Sud       Vélez Sarsfield
1934     Colegiales              River Plate

In 1935 the old First Division from the "Asociación Argentina de Football"
(amateur teams) were merged with the Reserve teams from the "Liga Argentina de
Football" (professional league) in a new Second Division. This Second Division
was split in 1937 in two leagues:
Reserves from First Division A and Second Division (second level teams).

1937     Boca Juniors
1938     Abandoned 

Reserves and Second levels teams were merged in 1939 but there were different
Champions to both kind of teams.

1939     San Lorenzo de Almagro

Different leagues for both kinds of teams were played since 1940 up to now.
1940     Boca Juniors
1941     River Plate
1942     River Plate
1943     River Plate
1944     River Plate
1945     Independiente (A)
1946     Independiente (A)
1947     San Lorenzo de Almagro
1948     San Lorenzo de Almagro
1949     Rosario Central
1950     River Plate
1951     River Plate
1952     Racing Club
1953     San Lorenzo de Almagro  
1954     San Lorenzo de Almagro  
1955     Boca Juniors
1956     Boca Juniors
1957     Racing Club
1958     Boca Juniors 
1959     Racing Club 
1960     Racing Club
1961     Independiente (A)             
1962     Boca Juniors
1963     Racing Club
1964     Independiente (A)       
1965     Rosario Central         
1966     Estudiantes LP
1967     Boca Juniors
1968     Boca Juniors 
1969     (Abandoned)
1970     San Lorenzo de Almagro

1971-1980 (Not played).

1981      Rosario Central
1982      Estudiantes LP
1983      Ferro Carril Oeste (BA)
1984      (Abandoned)
1985/86   Newell's Old Boys
1986/87   Newell's Old Boys
1987/88   Argentinos Juniors
1988/89   Newell's Old Boys
1989/90   Independiente (A)
1990/91   Ferro Carril Oeste (BA)
1991/92   Boca Juniors
1992/93   Estudiantes LP

 Boca Juniors           16 (Buenos Aires)
 River Plate            12 (Buenos Aires)
 Independiente (A)      10 (Avellaneda)
 Racing Club             8 (Avellaneda)
 San Lorenzo de Almagro  8 (Buenos Aires)
 Estudiantes LP          4 (La Plata)
 Ferro Carril Oeste (BA) 4 (Buenos Aires)
 Newell's Old Boys       3 (Rosario)
 Rosario Central         3 (Rosario)
 Vélez Sarfield          3 (Buenos Aires)
 Argentinos Juniors      1 (Buenos Aires)
 Barracas Central        1 (Buenos Aires)
 Colegiales              1 (Munro)
 El Porvenir             1 (Gerli)
 Huracán (BA)            1 (Buenos Aires)
 Quilmes                 1 (Quilmes)
 Sportivo Barracas       1 (Buenos Aires)
 Sportivo Buenos Aires   1 (Buenos Aires)
 Sportivo Dock Sud       1 (Dock Sud)
 Sportivo Palermo        1 (Buenos Aires)

About this document

Sources: [CIHF -], [Iwa -], [Ram -], [Yam -].

Prepared and maintained by Osvaldo José Gorgazzi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Osvaldo José Gorgazzi (
Last updated: 14 Dec 1999

(C) Copyright Osvaldo José Gorgazzi and RSSSF 1995/1999
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.