Everton FC Tour of New Zealand 1987

Everton, an English club, played two matches during its tour of New Zealand in 1987. They were invited to commemorate the centenary of the Auckland Football Association. At the time of the tour, Everton were the English champions. They were the first reigning English league champions to visit New Zealand since Manchester United in 1967.


DATE   VENUE           OPPOSITION                 RESULT
  -                    Australian opposition        ?
30- 5  Christchurch    Canterbury XI              3-0  W
 1- 6  Auckland        Auckland XI                2-1  W


30/05/1987, Christchurch, Queen Elizabeth II Park, 8000
EVERTON             3 (Steven 3', Mountfield 11', Heath 89')
Canterbury XI:      James Taylor (Alan Stroud 46'), Paul Hillis, Garry Lund, ? Calder, 
                    Ceri Evans, Graeme Archer (? Nicholls 60'), Keith Braithwaite, 
                    Danny Halligan, Michael McGarry (Johan Verweij 60'), Alan Carville, 
                    ? Hanson.
Everton:            Bobby Mimms, Pat van den Hauwe, Kevin Ratcliffe [c], Dave Watson, 
                    Neil Pointon (Gary Stevens), Ian Snodin, Alan Harper, Peter Reid (Neil
                    Adams), Trevor Steven, Adrian Heath, Derek Mountfield (John Ebbrell).
Referee:            Lennox Sharp (Southland).
Notes:              Canterbury was a regional selection from New Zealand, but included a number 
                    of players from the Otago province.
                    Canterbury XI were coached by Ian Marshall and was managed by Terry Conley.
                    Everton FC were managed by Howard Kendall.  

01/06/1987, Auckland, Mount Smart Stadium, 16357
AUCKLAND XI         1 (Keith Mackay 32')
EVERTON             2 (Dave Watson 7', Trevor Steven 36') 
Auckland XI:        Allan Gilgrist, Keith Garland, Ricki Herbert, Craig Simpson, Keith Pritchett [c],
                    Keith Mackay (Nigel Somerville 82'), Duncan Cole, David Witteveen (Allan Boath
                    65'), Ian Masson, Billy Wright, Grant Lightbown.
Everton:            Bobby Mimms, Gary Stevens, Kevin Ratcliffe, Dave Watson, Neil Pointon, ? Harper
                    (Neil Adams), Peter Reid (John Ebbrell), Ian Snodin, Trevor Steven, ? Sharp,
                    Adrian Heath (Derek Mountfield 77').
Referee:            Ken Wallace (Auckland).
Notes:              Auckland was a regional selection from New Zealand.
                    Auckland XI were coached by Tony Sibley and were managed by John Adshead.
                    Everton FC were managed by Howard Kendall. 

About this document

Source: [Dev 88]

Prepared and maintained by Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Andre Zlotkowski (nzfooty@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 29 Nov 2007

(C) Copyright Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2007
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.