Ghana - Foundation Dates of Clubs

Accra                   1910 [D]  Invincibles (Accra)
                        1911      Hearts of Oak (Accra)
                        1924      Accra Standfast
                        1954      Great Olympics (Accra)
                        1966 [D]  Real Republicans (Accra)
                        1997      Liberty Professionals SC

Cape Coast              1903 [D]  Excelsior (Cape Coast) 

Dawu                    1987      Dawu Youngsters

Kumasi                  1924      Asante Kotoko (Kumasi) [founded as Rainbow FC;
                                      later known as Ashanti United and Titanics]
                        1931      Cornerstones (Kumasi)
                        1980      Auroras (Kumasi)

Sekondi-Takoradi        1919      Eleven Wise (Sekondi-Takoradi)
                        1929      Hasaacas (Sekondi-Takoradi) [founded as Fanti United]
                        1966 [D]  Independence (Sekondi-Takoradi)

Tamale                  1975      Real Tamale United 

Tema                    1991 [D]  Roadmasters (Tema)

[D] denotes club was later dissolved

NB: Excelsior (Cape Coast) were the first club founded in Ghana
    (known as Gold Coast at the time).  Other clubs to have been
    founded early in the 20th century and apparently now dissolved:
    Accra: Energetics, Never Miss, Royalists, Osu Pioneers, Africa, Wolves
           (all 'by 1912');
    Cape Coast: Evertons, Blankson’s XI, Sports, Swallows, Rose XI,
                Bolton Wanderers, Judges, Gardens, Titanics, Majestics 
    Sekondi-Takoradi: Mosquitos, Western Wanderers, Jericho,
                      Railway Apprentices, Ga United

About this document

Thanks to Hans Schöggl

Prepared and maintained by Lars Kubusch for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Lars Kubusch
Last updated: 6 Dec 2018

(C) Copyright Lars Kubusch and RSSSF 2002/18
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.