Empire Exhibition Trophy in Glasgow 1938

Friendly tournament played in Glasgow to commemorate the Exhibition of British Empire in 1938 held in Bellahouston Park in Glasgow. The best clubs of England and Scotland were invited.

The trophy, to be kept permanently by the winning club, was a silver replica of the Exhibition Tower.

All games played at Ibrox Park.

Participants:  Rangers FC             (Scotland)
               Celtic FC              (Scotland)
               Aberdeen FC            (Scotland)
               Heart of Midlothian FC (Scotland)
               Everton FC              (England)
               Brentford FC            (England)
               Chelsea FC              (England)
               Sunderland FC           (England)

25-5-1938   Celtic FC-Sunderland FC            0-0  
              [att: 53.976]
 ?-5-1938   Aberdeen FC-Chelsea FC             4-0
29-5-1938   Heart of Midlothian-Brentford FC   3-1  (1-0?)
30-5-1938   Glasgow Rangers-Everton FC         0-2 
              [att: 47,692] 

Quarterfinal Replay
26-5-1938   Celtic FC-Sunderland FC            3-1
              [Johnny Crum, Divers (2); ?]

30-5-1938   Celtic FC-Heart of Midlothian      1-0
              [Johnny Crum]
 ?-6-1938   Everton FC-Aberdeen FC             3-2

10-6-1938   Celtic FC-Everton FC               1-0  [aet]
              [Johnny Crum 95; att: 82,000]

Celtic FC:  Kennaway, Hogg, Morrison, Geatons, Lyon, Paterson,
            Delaney, MacDonald, Crum, Divers, Murphy.

Everton FC: Sagar, Cook, Greenhalgh, Mercer, Jones, Thomson,
            Geldard, Cunliffe, Lawton, Stevenson, Boyes.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Javier García, Frédéric Pauron and Andrea Veronese for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Javier García (mcalvo@tmb.net), Frédéric Pauron (fpauron@hotmail.com) and Andrea Veronese (veronas@tiscalinet.it)
Last updated: 15 Feb 2003

(C) Copyright Javier García, Frédéric Pauron, Andrea Veronese and RSSSF 2003
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.