India - List of Foundation Dates

1889   Mohun Bagan AC (Calcutta)             [on Aug 15]
1891   Mohammedan SC (Calcutta)
1906   Guwahati Town Club (Guwahati)
1907   Maharana AC (Guwahati)
1920   Kingfisher East Bengal FC (Calcutta)  [founded as East Bengal Club]
1927   Calcutta United FC                    [founded as Ever Ready Association (Calcutta)]
1939   Indian Nationals FC (Delhi)
1943   Tollygunge Agragami FC (Calcutta)     [founded as Russa Agragami Samity]
1946   Chennai City FC                       [founded as Nethaji SC]
       Washington SC (Shillong)              [merged 2008 with Royal FC (Shillong) to Royal Washingtion FC] 
1948   Hindustan FC (Delhi)
1950   City Club (Delhi)
       Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. SC (Bangalore)
1951   Vasco SC (Vasco da Gama)              [founded as Clube de Desportos]
       Indian Air Force (Delhi)
1952   Air India (Mumbai)  
1954   Trau FC (Imphal)                      [on Oct 2]
1955   Salgoacar SC (Vasco da Gama)
1956   Indian Telephone Industries (Bangalore)
1960   Punjab Police FC
1961   Dempo SC (Panjim)                     [founded as Clube Desportivo de Bicholim]
1962   Mahindra United (Mumbai)              [founded as Mahindra & Mahindra SC]                 
1965   Neroca FC (Imphal) 
1966   Shastri FC (Delhi)
       Border Security Force (Jalandhar)
1971   Jagajit Cotton & Textile Mills (Phagwara)
1972   Titanium FC (Thiruvananthapuram)
1977   Blood Mouth FC (Agartala)
1979   Punjab State Electricity Board (Hoshiarpur)
1983   Shillong Lajong FC        
1984   Aizawl FC
1986   State Bank of Travanore (Thiruvananthapuram)
1987   Tata Football Academy (Jamshedpur)
       DSK Shivajians FC (Pune)
       Rangdajied United FC (Shillong)       [founded as Ar-Hima FC]
1988   Churchill Brothers SC (Salcete)       [founded as Varca Club]  
1990   Indian Bank Recreation Club (Chennai)
1994   Sporting Clube de Goa (Panaji) 
1997   FC Kochin (Kochin)
1998   Bengal Mumbai FC (Mumbai)
       United Bangalore FC (Bangalore)
2001   Assam Police Blues (Guwahati)  
2004   Chirag United Club Kerala (Kochi)     [on May 9 as Viva Kerala FC; dissolved 2012]  
2005   Minerva Punjab FC (Chandigarh)        [founded as Minerva Academy FCC]       
2006   Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (Mumbai)
2007   Mumbai FC
2008   Royal Washington (Shillong]           [merger of Royal FC and Washington SC]
2010   Pailan Arrows FC (Calcutta)           [founded as India Arrrows FC; dissolved 2013]
2011   United Sikkim FC (Gangtok)       
2013   Bengaluru FC (Bangalore)              [on Jul 20]
2014   Atlético de Kolkata (Calcutta)        [on Apr 13]
       North East United FC (Guwahati)       [on Aug 15] 
       Kerala Blasters (Kochi)               [on May 27]
       Delhi Dynamos FC                      [on Jul 17]
       FC Goa (Margao)                       [on Aug 26]
       Bharat FC (Pune)                      [on Aug 26]
       Mumbai City FC                        [on Aug 30]
       Chennaiyin FC (Chennai)
       Pune City FC
2016   Real Kashmir FC (Srinagar)
2017   Jamshedpur FC                         [on Jun 12] 
       Gokulam Kerala FC (Calicut)

About this document

Main source:

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 29 Apr 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2005/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.