Lipton Challenge Cup

Trophy organised by sir Thomas Lipton betweeen the most important clubs of Sicily and Campania (Southern Italy). Palermo FBC were the definitive winners of this Cup.

1909: Naples FC
1910: Palermo FBC
1911: Naples FC
1912: Palermo FBC
1913: Palermo FBC
1914: Palermo FBC
1915: Palermo FBC ?

1909: Naples

Palermo-Naples 2-4

1910: Palermo [Probably this year the cup was dedicated to 50th Garibaldi Arrival Anniversary; other sources says that this was another tournament] 13.05.1910 Palermo FBC-Messina FC 9-0 13.05.1910 Audax Palermo-Lazio 0-7 13.05.1910 Naples-Messina FC 5-0 14.05.1910 Palermo FBC-Lazio 2-1 [Palermo FBC-Naples 4-1] ?
1911: Naples Palermo-Naples 1-2
1912: Palermo __.04.1912: Palermo FBC-Garibaldi Messina SG 3-1 __.04.1912: Palermo FBC-Naples 5-0 or 6-0
1913: Palermo [Manie Rosanero and Web Rosanero have two different information: the first tells the story of a final match between Palermo and Naples, the second relates about three final matches, Internazionale-Palermo 1-0, Palermo-Internazionale 3-1, Palermo-Internazionale 5-0. In any case, Palermo were the winner. We report Manie Rosanero's version.] Naples-Internazionale Napoli 4-0 [Palermo, Notarbartolo Stadium, 23 Mar 1913] Palermo FBC-Naples 5-0 Palermo FootBall Club: Ribolla, V.Colombo, Frigerio, Tabone, E.Barbera, Hawthorne, Morra, Schimicci, Turner, Amoroso, Wood. Naples FootBall Club: Cavalli, Garozzo, Del Pezzo, Coscia I, Hansen, Doder, Bruschini, Thornsteinsson, Troie, Coscia II, Pasquali.
1914: Palermo Palermo-Naples 2-1
1915: Palermo ? [The existance of this edition of Lipton Cup isn't sure: Almanacco Illustrato del Calcio Panini agrees, Web Rosanero doesn't agree].

About this document

Sources: Almanacco Illustrato del Calcio Panini 2005, MessinaStory, Web Rosanero, Manie Rosanero.

Prepared and maintained by Roberto Quartarone for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Roberto Quartarone (
Last updated: 15 May 2005

(C) Copyright Roberto Quartarone and RSSSF 2005
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.