Malta - List of Cassar Cup Finals

The brain child of Chev. A. Cassar Torreggiani O.B.E., who also donated the cup, appropriately named after him, the Cassar Cup came into being in 1920/21 as a competition the proceeds of which went in favour of local charities. Pitting the two current top teams in the Civilian League (or the MFA league champions and the MFA knock-out competition winners) against the Naval and Military champions (or the winners of the United Services League and the winners of the United Services knock-out cup) and in subsequent years against representative sides from the three Services, who had a number of good players in their ranks, the charity competition became one of the major attractions in the local soccer calendar, especially in the Thirties. Resumed after the war years it continued to be an attraction but with the advent of the local clubs' participation in the UEFA Cup this competition lost much of its lustre, eventually forcing the ruling body to abolish this competition after the 1968/69 season.
Cassar Cup
Season     Winners                     Runners up              

1920/21    Floriana
1922/23    Floriana
1923/24    Sliema Wanderers        [1]
1924/25    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Fourth Flotilla XI
1925/26    Dorset Regiment         bt  N.N. (other military entrants)
1926/27    Royal Artillery         4-2 HMS Malaya
1927/28    HMS Queen Elizabeth
1928/29    HMS Barham    
1929/30    Queen's Royal Regiment, 1st Battalion of Malta
1930/31    HMS Revenge
1931/32    Worcester Regiment
1932/33    Worcester Regiment and 4th Dest. Flottila    [shared; final not played]
1933/34    Sliema Wanderers
1934/35    Sliema Wanderers        1-0 Floriana   
1935/36    Sliema Wanderers    
1936/37    Floriana
1937/38    Sliema Wanderers
1938/39    Sliema Wanderers
1939/40    The ARmy
1944/45    Valletta
1945/46    Sliema Wanderers
1946/47    Hamrun Spartans
1947/48    1st Coast RMA           bt  Hamrun Spartans
1948/49    Hamrun Spartans
1949/50    Floriana                bt  Hamrun Spartans
1950/51    Army/RAF (combined)     bt  Hamrun Spartans
1951/52    Floriana                bt  Hamrun Spartans
1952/53    Floriana                1-0 Birkirkara
1953/54    Floriana
1955/56    Sliema Wanderers
1956/57    Sliema Wanderers
1957/58    Floriana
1958/59    Valletta
1959/60    Sliema Wanderers
1960/61    Floriana
1961/62    Hibernians
1962/63    Hibernians
1965/66    Valletta
1966/67    Sliema Wanderers
1967/68    Valletta            0-0 2-1 Sliema Wanderers

[1] Floriana did not take part

Number of Wins

Civilian Clubs

Sliema Wanderers          11 wins

Floriana FC               10 wins

Valletta FC                4 wins

Hamrun Spartans            2 wins
Hibernians Paola           2 wins

Services Sides

Worcester Regiment         2 wins    (one shared with 4th Destroyer Flottila)

1st Battalion Dorsets      1 win
1st Coast R.M.A.           1 win
4th Destroyer Flottila     1 win     (shared with Worcester Regiment)
Army                       1 win
Army/R.A.F.                1 win
H.M.S. Barham              1 win
H.M.S. Queen Elizabeth     1 win
H.M.S. Revenge             1 win
Queen's Royal Regiment     1 win     (full name: Queen's Royal Regiment, 1st Battalion of Malta=
Royal Artillery            1 win

About this document

Sources included:, Pat's Football Blog

Prepared and maintained by Oliver Haupt and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Oliver Haupt and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 12 May 2016

(C) Copyright Oliver Haupt, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2006/16
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.