Nigeria Cup 2006

Coca-Cola FA Cup

Provincial stage

In Lagos State, 94 teams entered, in Delta State 66.
Other states have less than five teams.  Start Jul 3.

Delta State
- - - - - -

Round 3 [Jul 16]
Appeteez FC (Asaba)		0-1 Omars FC (Warri)
Bissalo Babes FC (Warri)	0-1 Randle Lions FC (Warri)
Zumax FC (Aldja)		1-0 Delta Strikers FC (Warri)
All Stars FC			drw Enerhen Utd			[7-6 pen]
Invicible Sports Club (Warri)	1-0 Agbon Utd
Victory Stars			1-0 Aladja Utd
Polavis FC (Warri)		drw Ekete FC (Aladja)		[5-4 pen]

Round 4 [Jul 23]

Final [Aug 12, Warri Township Stadium]
Delta United			3-0 Ovwian United

Zonal Playoffs stage

NB: September 1-8

States participants:
Gombe		Liverpool and Gombe Lions.
Kwara		Bukonla Babes and Offa United.
Niger		Bida Lions and Golden Boys.
Kogi		Kogi Teachers and Kogi United.
FCT		FC Abuja and Defence Strikers.
Plateau		Mighty Jets and JUTH.
Abia		OUK United and Enyimba Feeders.
Ogun		Gateway and DG Babes.
Ondo		OSFODEC and Sunshine Stars.
Oyo		Shooting Stars Feeders and Crown.
Lagos		First Bank and Alexandria.
Osun		Prime and Gray.
Edo		Paulson and Haosa.
Enugu		UNEC Lions and UNTH.
Anambra		Gabros International and Power United.
Imo		Imo United and Akujiobi.
Ebonyi		Ebonyi Angels and Nwachukwu Bread.
Benue		Mighty Junior and Katsina-Ala.
Bayelsa		Brass United and Dream Bombers.
Akwa-Ibom	Akwa United and Akwa Starlet.
Ekiti		Works Rangers and Fountain.
Cross Rivers	Calabar Rovers and Anantigha Warriors.
Delta		Delta United and Ovwian United.
Rivers		Rivers United and Sharks Feeders.
Zamfara		Zamfara United and Yerima Strikers.
Jigawa		Jigawa Stars and Hagai.
Nasarawa	Nasarawa United Feeders and Keffi United Feeders.
Kebbi		Nasarawa United and Fadama FC.
Kaduna		M&D and El-Cruzeiro.
Sokoto		Sokoto United and Arewa United.
Kano		Dankalt and One Touch.
Borno		Aminu Jets and Bulunkutu.
Taraba		Jafca and Nou.
Yobe		Desert Stars and Police Stars.
Adamawa		Makwada and Adamawa United.
Bauchi		Wunti and Zagbai.
Katsina		Talba and Nasara.

NB: All 74 qualifiers from the 36 states of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (Abuja) campaign at the zonal        play-offs to qualify for the National Draws.
    There would be two round of matches during this stage. The first round would be decided on knock-out basis, while the         second round would be decided on round-robbin basis.
    Apart from the Katsina zone, which has 14 teams from 7 states, others have 12 teams from 6 states. 
    At the second round of matches, teams would be divided into two groups with winners of each group qualifying for the          National Draws, which would have 32 teams.

National stage

NB: Round of 32 composed of seeded 20 Premier League clubs and 12 teams 
    who qualified from the zonal play-offs.
    For the first time in the history of the competition, the Nigeria 
    Football Association (NFA) and sponsor, Coca-Cola, agreed to use only 
    eight match venues from the Round of 32 through finals.
    The eight match venues are: Dan Anyiam Stadium, Owerri (Imo State); 
    Enyimba Stadium, Aba (Abia State); Gateway Stadium (Ogun State);
    Gombe Stadium, Gombe (Gombe State); Jos Township Stadium, Jos (Plateau
    State); Onikan Stadium, Lagos (Lagos State); Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium,
    Benin-City (Edo State); Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano (Kano State).
    At this stage of the competition, teams would play on neutral grounds.

1/16 Finals
[Sep 20]
Wikki Tourists			0-0 Lobi Stars			[5-3 pen]
Ocean Boys (Bayelsa)		1-2 Bendel Insurance FC (Benin)
Prime FC (Ogbomosho)		0-2 Julius Berger (Abeokuta)
Heartland FC (Owerri)		0-0 Jigawa Stars		[4-5 pen]
Shooting Stars (Ibadan)		2-1 Kano Pillars
Makwada FC (Numan)		0-2 Niger Tornadoes FC
Nasarawa United			n/p Ranchers Bees (Kaduna)	[3-0; Ranchers Bees dns]
Gombe United			n/p Yobe Stars			[3-0; Yobe Stars dns]
[Sep 27]
Kwara United (Ilorin)		0-1 Sharks FC (Port Harcourt)
Dolphins FC			2-0 Akwa United Starlets FC
University Teaching Hospital FC 2-0 University of Nigeria Enugu Campus FC
Gateway FC			0-0 Bayelsa United		[4-5 pen]
El Cruzeiro FC			1-2 Kaduna United
Enyimba FC (Aba)		0-1 El-Kanemi Warriors (Maiduguri)
[Sep 28]
Enugu Rangers International FC  2-0 Fountain FC (Ado-Ekiti)
[Sep 29]
Offa United			bt  FC Abuja

1/8 Finals
[Oct 7]
El-Kanemi Warriors (Maiduguri)	0-1 Niger Tornadoes FC
Jigawa Stars			1-1 Sharks FC (Port Harcourt)	[4-1 pen]
Gombe United			abd Shooting Stars (Ibadan)	[0-2, abd at 67' due to rain]
Julius Berger (Abeokuta)	0-1 Dolphins FC
Kaduna United			1-0 Offa United
University Teaching Hospital FC	0-1 Bayelsa United (Yenagoa)
Bendel Insurance FC (Benin)	1-0 Enugu Rangers International FC
[Oct 8]
Nasarawa United (Lafia)		0-0 Wikki Tourists (Bauchi)	[4-5 pen]
Gombe United			0-1 Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

Quarterfinals [Oct 14]
Jigawa Stars			0-3 Niger Tornadoes FC
Shooting Stars (Ibadan)		2-3 Dolphins FC
Bayelsa United (Yenagoa)	0-2 Bendel Insurance FC (Benin)
Wikki Tourists (Bauchi)		1-1 Kaduna United		[1-4 pen]

Semifinals [Oct 22]
Dolphins FC (Port Harcourt)	1-0 Niger Tornadoes FC (Minna)
Bendel Insurance FC (Benin)	2-1 Kaduna United

Third-place match [Oct 29, MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta]
Niger Tornadoes FC (Minna)	2-1 Kaduna United

Final [Oct 29, MKO Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta]
Dolphins FC (Port Harcourt)	2-2 Bendel Insurance FC (Benin)	[aet; 4-2 pen]
  [Victor Ezeji, Ibrahim Ajani; Edwin Eziyodawe, John George]

FA Super Cup [aka Charity Shield]

[Dec 14, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi]
Ocean Boys FC (Brass)		1-0 Dolphins FC (Port Harcourt)
  [Brown Adegie 55]


list of champions

list of cup winners

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Batalha for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Batalha (
Last updated: 29 Dec 2006

(C) Copyright José Batalha and RSSSF 2006
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.