Nigeria - List of Foundation Dates

1929        PWD (Lagos)                           [dissolved]
1932        Oduko FC (Ife-Ife)                    [dissolved] 
1937        Hercules FC (Ibadan)                  [dissolved]
            Nigeria Railway FC (Lagos)
1938        Zik's Athletic Club (Lagos)           [dissolved] 
1946        Agric FC (Ibadan)                     [dissolved]  
1950        Oluyole Warriors (Ibadan)
1958        Stationery Stores Wonder FC (Lagos)
1960        Pepsi Cola FC (Ibadan)                [merged 1963 with WNDC Ibadan
                                                   to ICC Shooting Stars]  
1963        ICC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)           [merger of West Nigeria Development
                                                   Company Ibadan and Pepsi Cola FC Ibadan]
1964        CRSN FC (?)
1970        Enugu Rangers International FC
            Sharks FC (Port Harcourt)             [merged 2016 with Dolphin FC to Rivers United FC]
            Niger Tornadoes FC (Minna)
1971        Brighton FC (Lagos)                   [dissolved]  
1972        Julius Berger FC (Lagos)              [aka Bridge FC]
            Bendel Insurance FC (Benin City)      [founded as Vipers of Benin]
            NITEL Vasco da Gama FC (Enugu)        [founded as P and T Vasco da Gama]
1973        Lagos Dynamos
1974        Kwara United FC (Ilorin)              [founded as Kwara Water Corporation FC]
1975        Plateau United FC (Jos)               [founded as JIB Strikers FC]
1976 Aug  4 Heartland FC (Owerri)                 [founded as Spartans FC] 
     Nov  ? Enyimba International FC (Aba) 
            Alyufsalam Rocks (Ilorin)             [dissolved] 
198?        Bendel United FC (Uromi)              [founded as Flash Flamingoes & Esan FC]
1981        Lobi Stars FC (Makurdi)               [founded as Lobi Bank FC]
1982        BCC Lions (Gboko)                     [BCC = Benue Clement Club]
1988        Dolphin FC (Port Harcourt)            [founded as Eagle Cement; merged 2016 with
                                                   Sharks FC to Rivers United]
1989        Sirdona FC (Abule-Egba)
1990        Gombe United FC
            Kano Pillars FC                       [merger of WREKA FC, Kano Golden Stars
                                                   and Bank of the North]  
1991        Jasper United (Onitsha)               [founded as Premier Breweries FC] 
1993        Bora United SC (Ijero) 
1994        Spotlight FC (Katsina)                [founded as Katsina United FC]
            Crown FC (Ogbomosho)
1995        Sunshine Stars FC (Akure) 
1996        Abuja FC                              [founded as Buffalo FC (Kano)]  
            Prime FC (Osogbo)
            Akwa United FC (Uyo)
            Plateau Pyramids SC (Jos)
            Buffaloes FC (Kano) 
1997        Ifeanyi Ubah FC (Nnewi)               [founded as Gabros International FC]   
            Jos University Teaching Hospital FC
            Ibom Stars FC (Akwa) 
1998        Gateway FC (Abeokuta)                 [founded as Gateway United FC]  
            Warri Wolves FC                       [founded as Nigerian Ports Authority] 
            Babanawa FC (Anyigba) 
            AS Racines (Lagos)
1999        Anambra United FC (Onitsha)           [founded as Ebonyi Angels] 
2000        Wikki Tourists FC (Bauchi)
            Bayelsa United FC (Yenagoa) 
2001        Kaduna United FC
            Zamfara United FC (Gusau)
            Makwada FC (Fufore)
            Bussdor United FC (Owerri)            [founded as Bussdor United FC (Port Harcourt)]
2002 Nov 12 Ocean Boys FC (Brass)
2003        Abia Warriors FC (Umuahia)
2005        Anambra Pillars FC (Onitsha)          [founded as Power United]  
            Nasarawa United FC (Lafia)
2006        Rising Stars FC (Orido City)          [originally farm team of Sunshine Stars FC]
2007 Sep  ? COD United FC (Lagos)                 [COD = City Of David]
            MFM FC (Lagos)                        [MFM =  Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries FC]
            Taraba FC (Jalingo)   
            Westside FC (Ilesa)
2008        My People FC (Lagos)
            FC Yarmalight (Gombe)
2010        TEAP FC (Abuja)                       [TEAP = The Everlasting Arms Parish]
2011        DSS FC (Kaduna)
2012        Giwa FC (Jos)
            Ogun All Stars FC (Abeokuta)
2014 Dec  1 Ikorodu United FC (Lagos) 
2016 Feb  ? Rivers United FC (Port Harcourt)      [merger of Sharks FC and Dolphin FC] 
            George Tournah FC (Kolo)

About this document

Sources: [Akp 85], [Bak 97]

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 27 Sep 2018

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2005/18
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.