New Zealand 1930

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

Winner: YMCA

North Shore FC played in the 'B' grade.             


YMCA (Young Men's Christian Association) changed their name to 
WYMI (Wellington Youth Men's Institute) before the start of the 

 1.Hospital FC Porirua  14  21p
 2.Waterside AFC        14  20p
 3.Diamond FC           14  20p
 4.Seatoun AFC          14  13p
 5.WYMI                 14  12p
 6.Petone AFC           14  12p 
 7.Marist Brothers      14   9p
 8.Institute Old Boys   14   5p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Thistle


Winner: Seacliff

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Whakatu  


Winner: Thistle


Winner: Corinthians 


Winner: Caledonian


Winner: Pukemiro 


Winner: KP's

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Auckland Thistle       
Manawatu            ?       St Andrews
Wellington          ?       Petone
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Western
Otago               ?       ?

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Petone 2-1 Western
 [Craig, Dodds - Falloon]
Petone: Peter McVean, Scott Brown, Syd Haines, H. Smith, Jim Campbell,
J. Irvine, C. Baistow, W. Knox, Andy Leslie, J. Dodds, Dave Craig.
Western: George Colville, Ted Colville, William Kelly, William
Whittington, George Roberts, Albert Ellis, Frank Bridgens, Stan Ellis,
Clarrie Falloon, Albert McMillan, Tom Nelson. 

Referee: A.E. Caisley (Wellington).



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 9 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.