New Zealand 1934

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 2.North Shore United AFC
   other participants not known   

Tamaki United FC and Glen Innes merged into Eastern Suburbs FC.

 1.Marist Brothers      14  23p
 2.Hospital FC Porirua  14  23p
 3.Petone AFC           14  20p
 4.Swifts               14  12p
 5.Watersdie AFC        14  11p
 6.Lower Hutt           14  10p
 7.Diamond FC           14   7p
 8.NADA                 14   6p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Thistle


Winner: KETCOB (King Edward Technical College Old Boys) 

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier YMCA     


Winner: YMCA


Winner: Southern 


Winner: Stratford


Winner: Huntly Starr Utd  


Winner: Thistle

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Auckland Thistle
Wellington          ?       Petone
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Chch Thistle
Otago               ?       Northern

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Auckland Thistle 2-1 Christchurch Thistle
 [Watson (or Sutherland (og)), Wood - Adam]
Auckland Thistle: A. Gerrard, Jim McCosh, A. Williams, Wally Watson,
George Wright, Peter Wiseman, Les Wood, Archie Dunsmore, L. Williamson,
Dick Hislop, Murray Kay.
Christchurch Thistle: M. Mitchell; H. Johnston, G. Sutherland,
J. Paton, Alex Sutherland, A. Walker, J. Simpson, D. Sutherland,
J. Adam, J. Bruce, G. Walker.

Referee: G. Jackson (Wellington).



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 9 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.