New Zealand 1949

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eden AFC
 2.North Shore United AFC 
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   other participants not knon

 1.Seatoun AFC          14  24p
 2.Waterside AFC        14  23p
 3.Institute Old Boys   14  19p
 4.Marist Brothers OB   14  13p
 5.Hospital FC Porirua  14  10p
 6.Diamond FC           14  10p
 7.Railways             14   9p
 8.Technical Old Boys   14   4p

First Division A increased to ten teams for the 1950 season
(which means no relegation for Technical Old Boys).

Petone AFC join the First Division A from the Second Division 
(as a reward for winning the Chatham Cup).

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Christchurch Technical OB


Winner: Northern  

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier HSOB

South Canterbury

Winner: Northern Hearts  


Winner: Brigadiers  


Winner: City


Winner: Rotowaro     


Winner: Wanganui Athletic 

Chatham Cup:

Qualifying Rounds 


Petone               7-1  Wellington Marist  
Petone               bt   Railways
Petone               bt   Institute
Petone          1-1, 1-1  Waterside [1-0 on corners]  


Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eden       
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Wellington          ?       Petone
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Technical OB       
Otago               ?       Northern
Southland           ?       Invercargill Thistle


Ohakea               0-2  Petone
Eden                 2-2  Petone
 (at Blanford Park; game stoped after 90 min normal time and
  40 min of extra time due to bad light)
Petone               4-0  Eden   

Basin Reserve, Wellington 
Petone* (Wellington) 1-0  Northern of Otago 

* - Petone played in Wellington's 3rd level division (The top 
    two divisions were: First Division A and First Division B.
    Petone played in the Second Division)!

Petone: Ben Savage, Bob Reid, Fred Peters, Bob Walker, John Blundell, 
John Jakens, Jim Russell, Dave McKissock, Wally Hewitt, Frank Naylor, 
Jim Gale 
Northern: Jim Stephenson, Mick Ives, Bob McLean, Arthur Williams, 
Wally Meehan, Brian Walsh, Albie Jenkins, Ivan Walsh, Bill Berry, Norman 
McDonald, Bernie Cox. 

Referee: F. Callaghan (Wellington)
Attendance: 12 000



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.