New Zealand 1952

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eastern Suburbs AFC
   North Shore United AFC
   Mt Albert GSOB   
   Eden AFC
   Ponsonby AFC	
   Grey Lynn Comrades	

 1.Petone AFC           14  10  1  3  39-13  21
 2.Seatoun AFC          14   9  1  4  39-15  19 
 3.Hospital FC Porirua  13   6  4  3  29-25  16
 4.Stop Out             14   6  4  4  36-30  16
 5.Marist Brothers      13   5  1  7  24-31  11
 6.Railways             14   4  3  7  29-38  11
 7.Institute Old Boys   14   2  4  8  27-38   8
 8.Diamond FC           14   3  2  9  23-46   8

Difference in goals for (246) to goals against (236).

The full table can also be found here.


Winner: Christchurch Technical OB 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: West End 


Winner: Palmerston North United


Winner: Settlers


Winner: Otangarei United 

Poverty Bay

Winner: Thistle

South Canterbury

Winner: Thistle


Winner: Brigadiers  


Winner: Overseas


Winner: Pukemiro Junction     


Winner: Masterton B 


Winner: TCOB

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       North Shore
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier HSOB
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Wairarapa           ?       Masterton Athletic
Wellington          ?       Seatoun
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Woodbourne (Marlborough)
Canterbury          ?       Western
Otago               ?       Roslyn Wakari

Basin Reserve, Wellington
North Shore United 1-1 Western [aet - Cup Shared]
 [Moyle - Joseph]
In extra time both goals and corners counted. There were no goals
but with the very last kick of the game a defender's miskick screwed
over the North Shore line and Western had won an equalizing corner (1-1);
there wasn't even time for the kick to be taken.

North Shore United: Roy Gordon, Tom Chubb, Murray Best, Bill Bradshaw,
Ray Hodgson, Ernie Barker, Herb Moyle, Les Wood, Alan Richards, Leo
Hope-Ede, Mark Bell.
Western: Jack Smith, Frank Bradley, J. Austin, John Longmuir, David
Mackie, John White, Noel Joseph, Alex Davis, Ken Olley, Stan Eastham,
Roger Smith.

Referee: W.T. Dodd (Otago)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.