New Zealand 1956

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

   North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt Albert GSOB
   other participants not known


 1.Stop Out             12  21p
 2.Victoria University  14  21p
 3.Seatoun AFC          13  18p
 4.Miramar Rangers      14  17p
 5.Marist Brothers OB   14  10p
 6.Western Suburbs AFC  13   8p     
 7.Upper Hutt           14   6p [*]
 8.Petone AFC           14   7p

It's not clear why Upper Hutt finished above Petone AFC.

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Rangers


Winner: Millerton Thistle 

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Athletic    


Winner: Kiwi United 


Winner: Blenheim B


Winner: Settlers 


Winner: Kamo Swifts  

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: West End  


Winner: Brigadiers   


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Huntly Thistle      


Winner: No competition  


Winner: TCOB  

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eastern Suburbs
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Wanderers
Bay of Plenty       ?       Rangers
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Colenso Athletic
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wairarapa           ?       Masterton Athletic
Wellington          ?       Stop Out
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Shamrock
Sth Canterbury      ?       West End
Otago               ?       Northern

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Stop Out 4-1 Shamrock
 [Sharp, Sergent, Schryvers, Benge - Fields]

Stop Out: Dennis Hudson, James Neumann, James Blair, George Smith, Frank
Jeromson, Henk Grootelaar, Derek Gentry, Fred Benge, Abram Schryvers,
Jack Sharp, Brian Sergent.
Shamrock: Joe Callaghan, Tom Campion, Kevin O'Flaherty, Peter Fletcher,
Peter Flynn, Dick Durant, Robert Nicholls, Jim Price, Ernie Fields,
Cliff Banham, Brian Newsome.

Referee: E.O. Mason (Otago)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.