New Zealand 1960

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt Albert GSOB
   Eden AFC
   Ellerslie AFC
   Mt. Roskill AFC
   Mt. Wellington


 1.Railways             14  19p
 2.Diamond FC           14  19p
 3.Petone AFC           14  18p
 4.Miramar Rangers      14  17p 
 5.Northern             14  14p
 6.Seatoun AFC          14  12p
 7.Stop Out             12  11p
 8.Western Suburbs AFC  12   8p
 9.Marist Brothers OB   12   7p
10.Zealandia            12   7p

First round: each team played each opponent once. 
Second round: the top six played each other once and the bottom played each other once. 

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Kahukura


Winner: Waimangaroa United  


Winner: Papatoetoe 

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers       


Winner: Kiwi United 


Winner: Woodbourne  


Winner: Athletic  


Winner: Otangarei United     

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Thistle    


Winner: Invercargill Thistle 


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Hamilton Technical OB       


Winner: YMCA   


Winner: Blue Rovers 

West Coast

Winner: Cobden-Kohinoor     

Chatham Cup:  

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       North Shore
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Technical OB
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kahukura
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Athletic
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wairarapa           ?       Masterton Athletic
Wellington          ?       Northern Wellington
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Athletic
Canterbury          ?       Technical OB
Otago               ?       Northern
Southland           ?       Invercargill Thistle

Basin Reserve, Wellington
North Shore United 5-3 Technical Old Boys
 [Lowndes 2, Armstrong, Paterson, Ryan - Verham, Campbell, Charlton]

North Shore United: Dick Ansley, John Collins, Graham Hankins, Ken
Armstrong, Warwick Ward, Derek Easto, John Ryan, Tom Paterson, Alex
Middleton, Tony Lowndes, Peter Oden.
Technical Old Boys: Keith Flintham, Ian Graham, Kevin Rasmussen, Kevin
Hendy, Richard Van Dalsum, Arthur Verlander, Malcolm Jones, Arthur
Verham, Ted Charlton, William Shannon, John Campbell.

Referee: A. Williams (Otago)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.