New Zealand 1961

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt Albert GSOB
   Eden AFC
   Ellerslie AFC
   Mt. Roskill AFC
   Mt. Wellington
   Pt. Chevalier
   Blockhouse Bay


 1.Northern             14  22p
 2.Seatoun AFC          14  18p
 3.Diamond FC           13  16p
 4.Miramar Rangers      13  15p
 5.Railways             13  13p
 6.Western Suburbs AFC  13  11p
 7.Petone AFC           12  13p 
 8.Marist Brothers      12   9p 
 9.Zealandia            12   6p
10.Stop Out             12   5p

First round: each team played each opponent once. 
Second round: the top six played each other once and the bottom played each other once. 

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Christchurch Technical OB  


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Kawerau Town 


Winner: Waimangaroa United  


Winner: Manurewa

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers       


Winner: Ohakea 


Winner: Spartans  


Winner: Rangers  


Winner: Kamo Swifts      

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Thistle    


Winner: Invercargill Thistle 


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Hamilton Technical OB       


Winner: YMCA   


Winner: New Settlers  

West Coast

Winner: Grey United      

Chatham Cup 1961

Qualifying Rounds 


Western              4-1  Christchurch City
Nomads               5-2  Shamrock

Western              bt   Nomads

Other results unknown

Other regions:

Results unknown.

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Northland           ?       Otangarei Utd
Auckland            ?       North Shore
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Technical OB
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kahukura
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke's Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wellington          ?       Miramar Rangers
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Thistle
Canterbury          ?       Western
Sth Canterbury      ?       Thistle
Otago               ?       Northern
Southland           ?       Invercargill Thistle

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Northern 2-0 North Shore United
 [George Little 34, Bruce Campbell 88; att: 7000]

Northern: Jim Stephenson, Alex Young, Trevor McFarlane, John Rae, Jim Ferguson,
          Stan Forbes, Bill Berry, Bruce Campbell, George Little, Duncan McVey,
          John Little
North Shore United: Alan Windsor, John Collins, Graham Hankins, Ken Armstrong,
                    Warwick Ward, Derek Easto, John Ryan, Tom Paterson, Alex
                    Middleton, Lotsy Polyanszky, Peter Oden

Referee: C. Anderson (Canterbury)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91], [ws]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 16 Oct 2014

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.