South Asian Football Federation Cup

Biannual tournament for the nations surrounding the Indian Peninsula. In 1993 the tournament was called "South Asian Association of Regional Co-operation" Gold Cup, in 1995 simply "South Asian Gold Cup 95"; since 1997 onwards it is known as the "South Asian Football Federation Gold Cup" or "South Asian Football Federation Championship" .


year winner       runners-up           venue
1993 India        Sri Lanka            Lahore, Pakistan
1995 Sri Lanka    India                Colombo, Sri Lanka
1997 India        Maldives             Kathmandu, Nepal
1999 India        Bangladesh           Margao, Goa
2003 Bangladesh   Maldives             Dhaka, Bangladesh [*]
2005 India        Bangladesh           Karachi, Pakistan
2008 Maldives     India                Malé, Maldives and Colombo, Sri Lanka
2009 India        Maldives             Dhaka, Bangladesh
2011 India        Afghanistan          New Delhi, India
2013 Afghanistan  India                Kathmandu, Nepal

[*] postponed from Oct/Nov 2001 to Jan/Feb 2002; then postponed due to suspension of
    Bangladesh FA from FIFA; rescheduled for Jan 2003

Number of Titles (10; runners-up finishes between square brackets)

 6 [ 3] India

 1 [ 3] Maldives
 1 [ 2] Bangladesh
 1 [ 1] Afghanistan
 1 [ 1] Sri Lanka

About this document

With thanks to Malik Riaz Hai Naveed (

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 19 Sep 2013

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 1998/2013
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.