Sierra Leone - List of Champions

Western Area (WAFA)
1923    East End GC (Freetown)      [14 participating teams]
1924    Regents Olympic (Freetown)
1925    Regents Olympic (Freetown)
1926    Academy GC (Freetown)
1927    Bame Games Club
1928    Regents Olympic (Freetown)
1929    SE Tyrants
1939    Regents Olympic (Freetown)
NB: other seasons not known; Western Area included Freetown

Western Area (SLFA)
1953    Regents Olympic (Freetown)
1954    East End Lions (Freetown)
1955    Blackpool (Freetown)
NB: other seasons not known; SLFA league and cups in this period restricted to the Freetown
    area (or the Colony); in addition there were provincial leagues which were more loosely
    affiliated to the SLFA.

1968    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1969      not played
1970    Ports Authority (Freetown)
1971    Ports Authority (Freetown)
1972    Ports Authority (Freetown)
1973    Ports Authority (Freetown)
1974    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1975-76   not played
1977    East End Lions (Freetown)
1978    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1979    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1980    East End Lions (Freetown)
1981    Real Republicans (Freetown)
1982    Sierra Fisheries (Freetown)
1983    Real Republicans (Freetown)
1984    Real Republicans (Freetown)
1985    East End Lions (Freetown)
1986    Sierra Fisheries (Freetown)
1987    Sierra Fisheries (Freetown)
1988    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1989    Freetown United (Freetown)
1990    Old Edwardians (Freetown)
1991    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1992    East End Lions (Freetown)
1993    East End Lions (Freetown)
1994    East End Lions (Freetown)
1995    Ports Authority (Freetown)
1996    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1997    East End Lions (Freetown)
1998    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
1999    East End Lions (Freetown)
2000    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
2001    Mighty Blackpool (Freetown)
2002      not played
2003      not played
2004      not played
2005    East End Lions (Freetown)
2006    Kallon FC (Freetown)
2008    Ports Authority (Freetown)
2009    East End Lions (Freetown)
2010    East End Lions (Freetown)
2011    Ports Authority (Freetown)
2012    Diamond Stars (Kono)
2013    Diamond Stars (Kono)

Championships (39; since 1968):

11 East End Lions

10 Mighty Blackpool

 7 Ports Authority

 4 Kallon FC (includes Sierra Fisheries)
 3 Real Republicans 

 2 Diamond Stars (Kono)

 1 Freetown United 
   Old Edwardians 

About this document

Source for data prior to 1930: [FIF 31]

Additions thanks to Barry Baker, Neil Morrison and José Batalha

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Julio Bovi Diogo (
Last updated: 26 Nov 2015

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo and RSSSF 1996/2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.