Spain - List of Champions of Asturia

The "Federación Asturiana de Fútbol" was founded in 1915 by the clubs of the region of Asturias. It organized the "Campeonato de Asturias" from the season 1916-17.

It was also a qualifying phase of the Spanish Cup.


Year           Champions
1916-17        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1917-18        R. Sporting de Gijón
1918-19        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1919-20        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1920-21        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1921-22        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1922-23        R. Sporting de Gijón 
1923-24        R. Sporting de Gijón
1924-25        R. Stadium C. Ovetense (Oviedo)
1925-26        R. Sporting de Gijón
1926-27        R. Sporting de Gijón
1927-28        Real Oviedo FC
1928-29        Real Oviedo FC
1929-30        R. Sporting de Gijón
1930-31        R. Sporting de Gijón
1931-32 [1]      not played 
1932-33        Oviedo FC
1933-34        Oviedo FC
1934-35        Oviedo FC
1935-36 [2]      not played 
1936-37          not played due to Spanish Civil War
1937-38          not played due to Spanish Civil War
1938-39          not played due to Spanish Civil War
1939-40        R. Sporting de Gijón 


[1] In the season 1931-32 a "Campeonato Astur-cántabro" was played, won by
    Oviedo FC.
[2] In 1935-36 the Championships of Galicia and Asturias merged in the
    "Campeonato Astur-Gallego", won by Oviedo FC.

Number of wins

13 Real Sporting de Gijón

 8 Oviedo FC (includes 1 Champ. Astur-cántabro and 1 Champ. Astur-Gallego)

 1 Real Stadium C. Ovetense (Oviedo)

Name change

Real Stadium C Ovetense and Deportivo Ovetense merged in 1926 to form 
Real Oviedo FC, which was called Oviedo FC in the period 1931-37.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Carles Lozano Ferrer for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Carles Lozano Ferrer (
Last updated: 25 Jan 2000

(C) Copyright Carles Lozano Ferrer and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.