Spain - List of Champions of North Africa

The "Federación de Futbol Hispano-Marroquí" was founded in 1931 by clubs from the towns of Ceuta and Melilla, the Spanish Protectorate of Morocco (extended over the northern half of the current Morocco), and the neutral place of Tanger, and organized the "Campeonato Hispano-Marroquí", later called "Campeonato Norte de Africa".

It was also a qualifying phase of the Spanish Cup, in spite of being one of the championships with a relatively low level.


Year           Champions                   Runners-Up
1931-32        Cultura Sport Ceutí         Ceuta FC
1932-33        Africa Sport Club           Unión Santa Bárbara-Europa
1933-34        Ceuta Sport                 Africa Sport Club
1934-35        Ceuta Sport                 Africa Sport Club
1935-36        Atlético Tetuán             Español FC
1936-37          not played due to Spanish Civil War
1937-38          not played due to Spanish Civil War
1938-39        Ceuta Sport
1939-40        Ceuta Sport                 Escuela Hispano Árabe

Number of wins

 4 Ceuta Sport
 1 Africa Sport Club
   Cultura Sport Ceutí
   Atlético Tetuán  

Notes and name changes

1) Cultura Sport Ceutí and Ceuta FCmerged into Ceuta Sport in 1932.
2) Ceuta Sport changed its name to SD Ceuta in 1941.
3) Tetuán is currently the town of Tétouan in Morocco.
4) In 1956 the Spanish Protectorate of Morocco joined the French Protectorate 
   in the new independent Kingdom of Morocco.  In order to retain Atlético's 
   place in the Spanish Second Division, Atlético Tetuán and SD Ceuta officially
   merged in the new club Atlético Ceuta, and established in Ceuta. On the 
   structures in Tetuan, a new club was formed, called Moghreb Tétouan.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Carles Lozano Ferrer for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Carles Lozano Ferrer (
Last updated: 20 Nov 2014

(C) Copyright Carles Lozano Ferrer and RSSSF 2000/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.