Spain - Cup 1924

Played by 10 regional champions:

Champions of Catalonia: FC Barcelona
Champions of Centro: Real Madrid FC
Champions of Guipúzcoa: Real Unión de Irún
Champions of Vizcaya: Athletic de Bilbao
Champions of Galicia: RC Celta (Vigo) (merger of RC Fortuna and R Vigo Sporting)
Champions of Asturias: Sporting de Gijón
Champions of Levante: C. Natación (Alicante)
Champions of Andalucía: Sevilla FC
Champions of Aragón: RSA Stadium (Zaragoza)
Champions of Cantabria: Racing de Santander


Preliminary Round

First Legs [Mar 23]
FC Barcelona            8-1     RSA Stadium de Zaragoza
Sporting de Gijón       7-0     Racing de Santander

Second Legs [Mar 30]
RSA Stadium de Zaragoza 0-9     FC Barcelona
Racing de Santander     2-3     Sporting de Gijón


First Legs 
[Mar 23]
Real Madrid             4-0     Natación de Alicante
Sevilla FC              1-1     Real Unión de Irún
RC Celta                1-1     Athletic de Bilbao
[Apr 6]
FC Barcelona            2-0     Sporting de Gijón

Second Legs 
[Mar 30]
Natación de Alicante    2-3     Real Madrid
Real Unión de Irún      2-0     Sevilla FC
Athletic de Bilbao      6-1     RC Celta
[Apr 13]
Sporting de Gijón       2-0     FC Barcelona

Replay [Apr 16, at Madrid]
FC Barcelona            3-1     Sporting de Gijón


First Legs 
[Apr 6]
Athletic de Bilbao      3-1     Real Madrid
[Apr 20]
Real Unión de Irún      1-0     FC Barcelona

Second Legs 
[Apr 13]
Real Madrid             3-0     Athletic de Bilbao
[Apr 27]
FC Barcelona            2-0     Real Unión de Irún

[Apr 15, Madrid]
Real Madrid             1-0     Athletic de Bilbao
[Apr 30, San Sebastián]
Real Unión de Irún      6-1     FC Barcelona

Final [May 4]
Estadio de Atocha, San Sebastián
Real Unión de Irún      1-0     Real Madrid
  [ref: Sánchez]
Unión: Emery II, Anatol, Bergés, Gamborena, René Petit, Eguiazábal,
       Echeveste, Vázquez, Errazquín, Matías, Azurza  
Madrid: Martínez, Escobal, Quesada, Barredo, Mengotti, Mejía,  
        Muñagorri, Valderrama, Monjardín, Félix Pérez, Del Campo

Overview of Finals



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero (
Last updated: 12 Feb 2001

(C) Copyright José Vicente Tejedor Carnicero and RSSSF 2000/01
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.