Stanley Pool Cup

Competition for clubs from Brazzaville and Léopoldville (now called Kinshasa), organised by the Fédération de Football Association du Pool, while both Congo and DR Congo (Zaire) were colonies (French and Belgian Congo respectively). It was therefore an international competition though both cities are located close to each other on the Malebo Pool (the current name of the Stanley Pool), a big lake in the Congo river.

Stanley Pool Championship


1928    ES Congolaise Léopoldville
1929    CO les Nomades Léopoldville
1930    ES Congolaise Léopoldville
1931    AS Léopoldville
1932    Diables Rouges (Brazzaville?)
1933      not known
1934    AS Portuguesa Léopoldville
1935    AS Portuguesa Léopoldville
1936    CS Belge Léopoldville
1937    CA Brazzaville
1938    CS Belge Léopoldville

Number of Wins

 2 CS Belge (Léopoldville)
   ES Congolaise (Léopoldville)
   AS Portuguesa (Léopoldville)

 1 CA Brazzaville
   Diables Rouges
   AS Léopoldville
   CO les Nomades (Léopoldville) 

NB: Léopoldville now called Kinshasa.

About this document

Source: [FIF 52]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com)
Last updated: 9 Jan 2003

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler and RSSSF 2002/03
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.