Surinam - List of District Champions

Below the national level, traditionally comprising 2 league levels called Hoofdklasse and Eerste Klasse, there are 20 regional federations ('lidbonden'), divided into 10 'randdistricten' (surrounding the capital Paramaribo) and 10 'districten', further away from the capital. The SVB has organised an annual tournament, the 'Randdistrictentoernooi', for the 'randdistricten' (normally involving the champions and runners-up of each) since 1973 and one for the other 'districten', the 'Interdistrictentoernooi' since 1979. The winners and sometimes runners-up were eligible for promotion to the national levels (sometimes even directly to the top flight). Since the 2005/06 season, the two tournaments have been combined into the 'lidbondentoernooi'.

Randdistrictentoernooi 1973-2005

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

1973 Fortuna (Lelydorp)                  Santos (Paramaribo Centraal)
1974 Sea Boys (Lelydorp)
1975 Boxel (Domburg)                     Flamingo (Lelydorp)
1976   not held
1977 Boxel (Domburg)                     Soleram (Paramaribo Centraal)
1978 S.C.A. (Lelydorp)                   Baru Padang (Kwatta)
1979 Amarjoti (Kwatta)                   Mipro (Kwatta)
1980 Real Java (Lelydorp)                Kamel Dewaker (Livorno)
1981 Ten CC (Domburg)                    Jai Hind (Kwatta)
1982 Producers (Pontbuiten)              Bonanza (Kwatta)
1983 Marai (Nieuwe Generatie)            Tornado (Lelydorp)
1984 Grantjie Boys (Nieuwe Generatie)    Inter Maretraite (Nieuwe Generatie)
1985 Road (Nieuwe Generatie)             P.V.V. (Paramaribo Centraal)
1986 De Rest (Blauwgrond)                Vasas (Blauwgrond)
1987 Lions'71 (Nieuwe Generatie)         Boxel'71 (Domburg)        
1988 Edo (Kwatta)                        Minerva (Livorno)
1989 Coronie Boys (Paramaribo Centraal)  Sea Boys (Lelydorp)
1990 Prekash (Leidingen)                 Palmeiras (Blauwgrond)
1991 Big Fellow (Pontbuiten)             Inter Benie (Kwatta)
1992 Zwaluw (Blauwgrond)                 Tornado (Lelydorp)
1993   not held
1994 Dego (Kwatta)                       Jai Hind (Meerzorg)
1995 Juniors'88 (Nieuwe Generatie)       Surland (Leidingen)
1996 H.O.B. (Kwatta)                     Excelsior (Meerzorg)
1997 Young Rhythm (Pontbuiten)           W.B.C. (Nieuwe Generatie)
1998 Royal'95 (Kwatta)                   Fortuna'75 (Lelydorp)
1999   not held
2000 Randjiet Boys (Leidingen)           Super Red Eagles (Nieuwe Generatie)
2001   not held
2002 Inter Kaya (Paramaribo Centraal)    Cruzeiro (Livorno)
2003 Ferano (Nieuwe Generatie)           Amardeep (Leidingen)
2004 Pechan (Leidingen)                  S.I.O.S. (Blauwgrond)
2005 Jai Hanuman (Livorno)               Excelsior (Meerzorg)

Number of Wins by Lidbond (29)

 6 Nieuwe Generatie

 5 Kwatta

 4 Lelydorp

 3 Domburg

 2 Blauwgrond
   Paramaribo Centraal

 1 Livorno

NB: H.O.B. = House Of Billiards
    P.V.V. = Politie Voetbal Vereniging
    W.B.C. = Walking Boyz Company

NB: the Pontbuiten lidbond (P.V.B.) does not exist anymore; clubs from there currently
    appear to enter the Wanica lidbond; possibly it was simply renamed.

Interdistrictentoernooi 1979-2005

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

1979 Santos (Nickerie)
1980 Arsenal (Wageningen)
1981 Real Moengo Tapoe (Moengo)
1982 Red Circle (Brokopondo)
1983 Osos (Coronie)
1984 Excelsior (Moengo)
1985 Arsenal (Coronie)
1986 Bill Stars (Para)
1987 Remo (Nickerie)
1988   not held
1989 Voorburg (Commewijne)
1990 Corona Boys (Coronie)
1991 Santos (Nickerie)
1992 Osos (Coronie)
1993 Inter Moengotapoe (Moengo)
1994 Peto (Moengo)
1995 Klaas Tiger (Brokopondo)
1996 SVV (Coronie)
1997 Papatam (Albina)
1998 Ricanau Mofo (Moengo)               Jai Hind (Nickerie)
1999   not held
2000 Lavoco (Coronie)                    FC Corona (Coronie)
2001   not held
2002 Boskamp (Saramacca)                 Adjoema (Moengo)
2003 Peto (Moengo)                       Arsenal (Coronie)
2004 Freyburg (Saramacca)                Papatam (Albina)
2005 SV 2000 (Moengo)                    SV Notch (Moengo)

Number of Wins by Lidbond (24)

 7 Moengo

 6 Coronie

 3 Nickerie

 2 Brokopondo

 1 Albina
NB: of the above clubs, the following 8 have reached the top level
    ('hoofdklasse') in Surinam until 2011:

    1991 Corona Boys (Coronie) 
         Remo (Nickerie)
    1994 Inter Moengotapoe (Moengo)
    1999 Klaas Tiger (Brokopondo)
         Ricanau Mofo (Moengo)    
         Jai Hind (Nickerie)
    2005 Boskamp (Saramacca)     
    2011 SV Notch (Moengo)

Lidbondentoernooi since 2006

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

2006 PSV (Nickerie)                      Tammenga (Kwatta)
2007 Eendracht (Livorno)                 Fortuna'75 (Lelydorp)
2008 De Ster (Lelydorp)                  The Brothers (Coronie)
2009 Inter Rica (Moengo)                 Tammenga (Kwatta)
2010 Boma Star (Lelydorp)                Fortuna (Saramacca)
2011 ACoconut (Brokopondo)               Santos (Nickerie)
2012 Caravan (Livorno)                   Papatam (Albina)
2013 West United (Coronie)               Deva Boys (Meerzorg)
2014 Jong Rambaan (Lelydorp)             Nishan 42 (Meerzorg)
2015 Santos (Nickerie)                   Amardeep (Leidingen)
2016 Flora (Nieuwe Generatie)            Slee Jr. (Nieuwe Generatie) 
2017 Happy Boys (Meerzorg)               Jong Aurora (Nieuwe Generatie) 
2018 Bintang Lair (Meerzorg)             Flamingo (Lelydorp)

NB: Inter Rica were formerly known as Ricanau Mofo  

Number of Wins by Lidbond (13; runners-up finishes between square brackets)

 3 [ 2] Lelydorp

 2 [ 2] Meerzorg
 2 [ 1] Nickerie
 2      Livorno

 1 [ 2] Nieuwe Generatie
 1 [ 1] Coronie
 1      Brokopondo
 1      Moengo

   [ 2] Kwatta      (both by Tammenga)
   [ 1] Albina
   [ 1] Leidingen
   [ 1] Saramacca

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans (
Last updated: 5 Jul 2018

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2007/18
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.