Syrian Cup 1969

Syrian Cup 1969

NB: contested between 38 clubs divided over 4 regional zones, from which 7 clubs
    (1 from east zone, 2 from other zones) qualified for the national stage

Regional Phase

East Zone

East Semifinals
Al-Akhaa (D. ez-Zor)  4-0 Al-Shabab             
Ommal (Rmeilan)       4-2 Al-Rasheed            

East Final

First Leg
Ommal (Rmeilan)       1-0 Al-Akhaa (Deir ez-Zor)  

Second Leg
Al-Akhaa (D. ez-Zor)  1-3 Ommal (Rmeilan)       

North Zone

Preliminary Round 1
Al-Shabiba            2-1 Al-Salahaddin         
Al-Arabi              8-0 Al-Wahda              
Al-Soori (Aleppo)     6-0 Al-Akhaa              
Al-Shahba             4-2 Al-Ahd al-Jadid       
Al-Khutut             1-1 Al-Istiqlal           [Al-Khutut on corners]

Preliminary Round 2
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      3-1 Al-Shabiba            
Al-Shahba             4-0 Al-Khutut             

North Finals
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      3-0 Al-Shahba             
Al-Arabi              0-0 Al-Soori (Aleppo)     [Al-Soori on corners]

West-Central Zone

Preliminary Round 1
Ommal (Hama)          2-0 Al-Ahly               

Preliminary Round 2
Al-Sahel (Latakia)    2-0 Al-Liwa               
Al-Fidaa (Homs)       2-1 Al-Arabi              
Ommal (Hama)          2-1 Al-Ommayya            

West-Central Finals
Al-Sahel (Latakia)    2-0 Al-Fidaa (Homs)       
Al-Wahda (Homs)       4-1 Ommal (Hama)          

South Zone

Preliminary Round 1
Al-Wathba             2-0 Al-Taliaa             
Ommal (Maghazel)      4-1 Al-Wahda              
Al-Maqasid            4-0 Al-Jaramana           
Al-Jadida al-Soori    5-1 Al-Shabab             
Al-Maghawir           awd Al-Jadida (Damascus)  [awarded 3-0]
Al-Jalaa              1-0 Al-Nidal              

Preliminary Round 2
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  3-1 Al-Jadida al-Soori    
Ommal (Maghazel)      2-0 Al-Wathba             
Al-Jalaa              2-0 Al-Maqasid            
Al-Maghawir           bye

South Finals
Ommal (Maghazel)      3-2 Al-Maghawir           
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  1-0 Al-Jalaa              

National Phase


First Legs
Ommal (Maghazel)      1-0 Al-Wahda (Homs)       
Al-Soori (Aleppo)     1-0 Al-Sahel (Latakia)    
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      3-3 Ommal (Rmeilan)       
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  bye

Second Legs
Al-Wahda (Homs)       2-1 Ommal (Maghazel)      [Ommal Maghazel on corners]
Al-Sahel (Latakia)    0-3 Al-Soori (Aleppo)     
Ommal (Rmeilan)       2-1 Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  bye


First Leg
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  3-1 Ommal (Maghazel)      
Ommal (Rmeilan)       bye

Second Leg
Ommal (Maghazel)      3-4 Al-Shorta (Damascus)  
Ommal (Rmeilan)       bye

NB: Al-Soori (Aleppo) apparently withdrew


First Leg
Ommal (Rmeilan)       1-1 Al-Shorta (Damascus)  

Second Leg [Aug 15]
Al-Shorta (Damascus)  0-2 Ommal (Rmeilan)       
  [George Afram, Said Naoum]

1968 (cup)

1968/69 (league)

1969/70 (league)

1970 (cup)

list of champions

list of cup winners

About this document

Source: [Kar 16]

Prepared and maintained by Mahmoud Karkora for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Mahmoud Karkora
Last updated: 30 Jul 2020

(C) Copyright Mahmoud Karkora and RSSSF 2020
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.