Turkey 1940

The seventh edition of the Türkiye Futbol Şampiyonası (Turkish Football Championship) was held in 1940. After five years of interruption, it was resumed in 1940 with a special format. In that year the National League (introduced in 1937) was also played, which included the top ranked clubs of the three major regional leagues of İstanbul, Ankara, and İzmir. The champions of the regional leagues not included in the National League played in regional groups again, such as in the 1930's. The winners of these regional groups played against each other in a play-off, with the winner of that play-off qualifying for the final. The final was contested between 1940 National League champions Fenerbahçe and the champions of the regional groups Eskişehir Demirspor.

Final [Sep 21, Ankara]
Eskişehir Demirspor           0-0 Fenerbahçe

Replay [Sep 22, Ankara]
Eskişehir Demirspor           3-1 Fenerbahçe
     Stadium: 19 Mayıs Stadium



list of champions.

list of cup finals.

list of president's cup and super cup finals.

list of prime minister's cup finals.

list of final tables.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Baki Demirkiran for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Baki Demirkiran
Last updated: 8 Mar 2018

(C) Copyright Baki Demirkiran and RSSSF 2018
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.