Yemen 1990/91

After unification, it was decided to set up a 4-level league system:
premier, first, second and third divisions. 

16 northern and 16 southern clubs entered the top level championship. 

First Stage

Played in 4 groups of 8 clubs each, all groups having 4 northern and
4 southern clubs; groups played as double round robin

Participants (by province):
Group 1: Sana, Taizz, Ibb, Dhamar, Aden(2), Hadramaut, Abyan
Group 2: Sana(2), Taizz(2), Aden(2), Hadramaut, Lahaj
Group 3: Sana(2), Hudaydah, Ibb, Aden, Hadramaut(2), Lahaj
Group 4: Sana, Hudaydah(3), Aden, Hadramaut, Abyan(2)

NB: top-4 of each group played first level 1991/92; bottom-4 of each
    group played 2nd level 1991/92

Second Phase (in Sana)

NB: 3 southern and 1 northern club qualified; 2 southern clubs reached
    the final

winners 1          -  winners 3
winners 2          -  winners 4

Al-Tilal (Aden)   bt  [?]

1989/90 (North and South Yemen)


list of champions

list of cup winners

list of topscorers

About this document

Source: [Ste 00]

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (
Last updated: 2 Mar 2007

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2007
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.