South Africa (Women) 2001/02

Sanlam National Women's League 2001/02

Launched in 2001 this competition involves more than 300 women club 
sides from all 25 SAFA regions. Each region fields a minimum of eight 
teams who play each other on a home-and-away basis. The nine provincial 
winners contest a national tournament to decide the national women's 
club champion.

Region Champions 

Border                    not known
Eastern KwaZulu-Natal   Nseleni Citizens
Eastern Free State      Zamdela Ladies
Eastern Province        Wolves
Gauteng East            Springs Homesweepers
Gauteng North           Rentmeester Zebra Force
Griqualand West         Galeshewe Ladies
Highveld                Highlanders
Lowveld                 Supersport
Mpumalanga South          not known
Natal Midlands          Dambuza Young Stars
North-West Central      Royal Professionals
North-West South          not known
Northern Cape West        not known
Northern Free State     Classic Chiefs
Northern KwaZulu-Natal    not known
Northern Province East    not known
Northern Province West  Development Ladies
South Cape              Brazilian Chiefs
Southern Free State     Hill Gunners
Sauthern Gauteng        Soweto Ladies FC
Southern KwaZulu-Natal    not known
Transkei                  not known
Vaal                    Bophelong Ladies FC
Western Cape              not known

Inter-provincial Playoffs [May 4,5?, Port Elizabeth]
Wolves         2-2 Galeshewe Ladies
Galeshewe L.   2-9 Pirates
Pirates        4-2 Wolves

 1.Cape Town Pirates     2  2  0  0 13- 4  6  Qualified 
 2.Port Elizabeth Wolves 2  0  1  1  4- 6  1
 3.Galeshewe Ladies      2  0  1  1  4-11  1 

NB: there were two other roud robins in Durban and Johannesburg, the winners
    of which (presumably AmaZulu Ladies and Soweto Ladies respectively) also
    qualified, apparently along with a 4th team (Classic Chiefs)

National Championship Final [Cape Town]

Semifinals [May 24]
Pirates        4-2 Classic Chiefs (Welkom)
Soweto Ladies  3-0 AmaZulu Ladies

Final [May 25]
Soweto Ladies  4-0 Pirates
  [Thabethe, Mawela, Modise (2)]

Transvaal Regional Leagues:

Sanlam Halala League (apparently top level league)

Champions: Bophelong Ladies FC
Runners-Up: Two for Joy FC
Third: Sharpeville Mafube 

SAFA-VAAL Castle League 

Champions: Real Rangers (promoted to Vodacom League)


list of champions.

About this document

Source (partial):

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 3 Jan 2014

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2004/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.