Congo-Kinshasa (DR Congo, Zaire) - Foundation Dates of Clubs

Boma                    1997 AS Lomami
Bukavu                  1951 OC Bukavu Dawa

Kananga                 1959 Union Sportive Tshinkunku 

Kinshasa                1919 Association Sportive Congolaise [*]
(Léopoldville)          1935 Association Sportive Vita Club 
                        1936 Daring Club Motema Pembe 
                        1938 Amicale Sportive Bilima 
                        1989 Athletic Club Sodigraf 
[*] ASC (Association Sportive Congolaise) were the first sports organisation
    for natives; the club was affiliated to the Comité Sportif Européen de
    Léopoldville in 1928 and to the Belgian FA in 1930; in 1939, Leopold III
    granted it the title of "Société Royal".  It was founded as Cercle Sportif
    Congolais and later renamed Fédération Sportive Congolaise before taking 
    the name Association Sportive Congolaise (before 1936).

Lubumbashi              1939 Tout Puissant Mazembe [founded as FC St-Georges]
(Elizabethville)        1939 FC Lupopo [founded as Standard]
                        1948 Cercle Sportif Don Bosco
                        2000 FC Saint-Pierre

Lukala                  1939 SC Cilu [Cilu = Ciment Lukala]

Mbuji-Mayi              1997 AS Vita Club 

About this document

Thanks to Hans Schöggl; source for info on ASC: [Vel 01]

Prepared and maintained by Lars Kubusch for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Lars Kubusch
Last updated: 20 Feb 2014

(C) Copyright Lars Kubusch and RSSSF 2002/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.