Zambia - Foundation Dates of Clubs

192?    Broken Hill Callies
        Broken Hill Corinthians
        Broken Hill Thistle
1921(?) Luanshya United
1922    Kabwe Warriors FC                   [founded as Railway Recreaction Club FC (Broken Hill)]   
193?    Roan Mine African FC (Luanshya)     [merged Feb 1962 with Roan Antelope Callies to Roan United FC]
        Rhokana FC (Kitwe)                  [founded as Rhokana Mine]                   
1932    Luanshya All Blacks FC              [dissolved]
1935    Roan Antelope Callies FC (Luanshya) [founded as Roan Antelope AFC; merged 1962 with Roan Mine African FC]
1936    British Nyasa United (Lusaka)
1937    City of Lusaka FC
193?    Mufulira Blackpool FC               [founded as Mufulira FC]
        Chingola Eleven Wise Men
        Luanshya All Blacks
        Kitwe Lions FC                      [merged 1963 with Kitwe Tigers to Kitwe United FC]
        Rhokana Mine (Kitwe)  
        Ndola Black Follies 
194?    Matero Tigers (Lusaska)             [founded as Lusaka Tigers]
        Ndola Home Defenders
        Chingola Dynamos
        Luanshya Buffaloes
        Kitwe Tigers                        [merged 1963 with Kitwe Lions FC to Kitwe United FC] 
        Chingola Orients
        Luanshya Roan Antelope FC United   
        Mufulira Styles       
1953    Mufulira Wanderers FC               [founded as Mufulira Mine Team]
        Matero Youth Club (Lusaka)          [merged 1954 with Chinika, Kamwala and Kabata to Matero United FC]
1954    Lusaka City FC [1st]                [founded as Matero United FC; later dissolved]
        Lusaka Tigers FC
1955    Nkana FC (Kitwe)                    [founded as Rhokana United FC]
1956    Konkola Blades FC (Chililabombwe)   [founded as Bancroft North End]
1960    Nchanga Rangers FC (Chingola)
1962    Roan United FC                      [merger of Roan Mine African FC and Roan Antelope Callies FC] 
        Rhokana United FC (Kitwe)           [merger of Rhokana FC and Nkana FC]
        Queen's Port FC (Lusaka)            [merged later with City of Lusaka FC]
        Kalulushi Modern Stars FC           [split off from Kalulushi Babes FC]
1963    Kitwe United FC                     [merger of Kitwe Lions FC and Kitwe Tigers] 
1964(?) XI Wise Men FC (Kalulushi)          [split off from Kalulushi Babes FC]
1966    University of Zambia FC (Lusaka)
1968    Green Buffaloes FC (Lusaka)         [founded as Zambia Army FC]  
1971    Power Dynamos FC (Kitwe)
1974    Prisons Leopards FC (Kabwe)
        ZESCO United FC (Ndola)    
1975    Forest Rangers FC (Ndola)
1978    Nkwazi FC (Lusaka)                  [aka Nkhwazi FC]
        Zanaco FC (Lusaka)         
1979    Lusaka Dynamos FC
1985    Katete Rangers FC
1990    Livingstone Pirates FC
1991    Kafue Eagles FC
1992    Chongwe United FC
2001    Happy Hearts FC (Lusaka)
2005    New Monze Swallows FC (Monze)
        Chirundu United FC
2006    Mungwi Hotspurs FC
2007    FC MUZA (Mazabuka)                  [Manchester United Zambian Academy]
        Solwezi Eagles FC
2010    Kabide FC (Lusaka)
        Lumwana Radiants FC
        Real Nakonde FC
2012    Buildcon FC (Ndola)                 [founded as A. M. Welding FC]
2013    KYSA FC (Kabwe)                     [Kabwe Youth Soccer Academy]
        Kabwata Dynamos FC (Lusaka)
        Romeki FC (Lusaka)
2015    Young Nkana FC (Kitwe) 
2016    Katima Border Stars FC (Sesheke)
        Lusaka City FC [2nd]
2017    Bauleni Super Eagles FC (Lusaka)    [aka BASE FC]
        Vector Academy FC (Lusaka)

NB: Zanaco = Zambia National Commercial Bank
    ZESCO  = Zambia Electricity Supply Corporation United

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 22 Apr 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2013/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.