Switzerland - List of Foundation Dates

Foundation Dates (until 1920)
1879        FC St. Gallen
1880        Lausanne Football and Cricket Club     [dissolved]
1886        Grasshopper-Club Zürich
1889        FC Carouge                             [founded as FC Victoria Carouge; merged 1922 with Etoile Sportive du Léman
                                                    to Etoile Carouge FC]     
1890        Servette FC Genève                     [founded as FC de la Servette Genève] 
            Footballclub Gymnasia St. Gallen       [dissolved]
1893        Anglo-American Club (Zürich)           [dissolved]
  	    Excelsior Zürich			   [merged 1898 with FC Zürich]	
            FC Neuchâtel                           [founded as Neuchâtel-Rovers; merged 1906 with FC Vignoble to 
                                                    FC Cantonal Neuchâtel] 
            FC Basel
1894        FC La Chaux-de-Fonds                   [founded as Union Chrétienne des Jeunes gens de La Chaux-de-Fonds]
            FC Bern 
            BSC Old Boys Basel                     [founded as FC Old Boys Basel]  
1895        FC Liestal    
            FC Stäfa                  
1896        FC Zürich                              [founded as Spiel und Sport Zürich] 
            FC Lausanne-Sport                      [founded as Lausanne-Sports FC] 
            FC Winterthur                          [founded as Excelsior FC Winterthur]
            FC Biel                                [founded as FC de Bienne]
            FC Schaffhausen                        [founded as FC Viktoria Schaffhausen]
            FC Urania Genève Sports                [founded as FC Urania Genève] 
1897        FC Yverdon                             [merged 1948 with FC Concordia Yverdon and White Star Yverdon to
                                                    Yverdon-Sport FC]
            FC Baden 
1898        FC Blue Star Zürich                    [founded as Mars Zürich]
            BSC Young Boys Bern                    [founded as FC Young Boys Bern]
            FC Floria Biel                         [merged 1907 with FC de Bienne to Vereinigter FC Biel (later FC Biel)]
            Fortuna Zürich			   [merged 1912 with FC Blue Star Zürich]
            FC Etoile Sporting La Chaux-de-Fonds
            SC Burgdorf				   [founded as FC Burgdorf]
            FC Thun 
1899        FC Forward Morges
            SC Zofingen                            [founded as FC Old Boys Zofingen]   
1900        FC Fribourg                            [founded as FC Technicum Fribourg] 
            FC Wil                                 [founded as FC Stella Wil]  
            FC Oerlikon                            [merged 2003 with FC Polizei Zürich to FC Oerlikon/Polizei]
            FC Vignoble                            [merged 1906 with FC Neuchâtel to FC Cantonal Neuchâtel]     
1901        FC Signal Lausanne                     [merged 1926 with Cercle des Sports Lausanne to FC Stade Lausanne]
            FC Luzern
            SC Brühl St. Gallen                    [founded as FC Brühl St. Gallen]   
            FC Nordstern Basel 
            FC Solothurn 
            FC Avenir de Bienne                    [dissolved]   
1902        FC Aarau
            FC Langenthal
            FC Horgen 
            FC Bex 
1902 ?	    Club Athlétique de Genève 		   [dissolved]
1903        FC Montreux-Sports			   [founded as FC Narcisse-Montreux]
            SC Young Fellows Zürich
            FC Wädenswil 
1904        AC Bellinzona                          [founded as FC Bellinzona]
            AC Lugano                              [founded as FC Lugano]
            FC Wohlen 
            FC Porrentruy 
1905        FC Chiasso
            FC Red Star Zürich
            FC Kreuzlingen 
            FC Stade Nyonnais 
            FC Arbon 
            FC Delémont                            [merged 1909 with US Delémont-Gare to SR Delémont]
   	    FC Vevey Sports 05			   [founded as FC Vevey-Sports]
1906        FC Grenchen
            FC Gossau 
            FC Cantonal Neuchâtel                  [merger of  FC Vignoble and FC Neuchâtel; merged 1970 with Xamax-Sports to
                                                    Neuchâtel Xamax FC]
            FC Locarno                             [founded as FC Unitas Locarno]  
            FC Herisau 
            FC Frauenfeld                          [founded as FC Kurzdorf] 
            Helvetia Bern			   [merged with ?]
1907        FC Concordia Basel
            FC Black Stars Basel 
            FC Breite Basel 
            FC Kickers Luzern                      [founded as FC Helvetia Luzern]
            FC Rorschach 
            FC Küsnacht 
            CS Chenois                             [founded as FC Thônex]  
            FC Gränichen
            Cercle des Sports Lausanne             [founded as Association du Stade Lausanne; merged 1926 with FC Signal 
                                                    Lausanne to FC Stade Lausanne]
            FC Meisterschwanden  
            US Delémont-Gare                       [merged 1909 with FC Delémont to SR Delémont]
            SC Derendingen			   [founded as FC Derendingen]
            FC Chur				   [merged 1997 with FC Neustadt and SC Grischuna to Chur 97]
1908        FC Dietikon
            FC Laufen 
            FC Sierre 
            FC Dottikon 
            FC Sarmenstorf 
1909        SR Delémont                            [merger of FC Delémont and US Delémont-Gare]
            FC Sion 
            FC Olten 
1910        SC Cham                                [founded as FC Cham]        
            FC Bulle    
            FC Monthey 
1911        SC Schöftland
            SV Muttenz 
1912        FC Glarus                              [founded as FC Linth-Glarus]      
            FC Renens
            FC Xamax Neuchâtel                     [merged 1970 with FC Cantonal Neuchâtel to Neuchâtel Xamax]    
1914        FC Visp
            Meyrin FC
            FC Brugg 
            FC Buchs (Aargau) 
1915        FC Gerlafingen 
            SC Zug                                 [founded as FC Excelsior Zug; merged 1994 with FC Zug to Zug 94] 
            FC Herzogenbuchsee  
1916        FC Richen Basel
            FC Lenzburg 
1917        FC Martigny-Sports                     [founded as FC Martigny] 
            FC Bülach 
1918        FC Red Star Zürich
            SC Dornach                             [founded as FC Dornach] 
1919        FC Turgi
            FC Saint-Imier
            FC Altstetten Zürich 
1920        FC Sursee
            FC Lachen 
            SC Binningen
            FC Birsfelden 
            SV Lyss
            FC Bremgarten 
            FC Gland                               [founded as Etoile Sportive FC Gland] 


About this document

Sources: http://www.weltfussballarchiv.com, http://sports123.com/teams/foo-swi.html, [Grü 00]

Thanks to Erik Garin for additions and corrections

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (hans.schoeggl@sbg.ac.at)
Last updated: 28 Feb 2008

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2008
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.