DR Congo (Zaire) - Congo-Léopoldville Champions

Competition for clubs from (the regions around) Léopoldville (now as Kinshasa the capital of the current DR Congo, then part of Belgian Congo).

Between 1923 and 1950 clubs from Léopoldville joined those from Brazzaville (in the French colony across the Congo river) in the Stanley Pool Championship.


1918 FC Castermans
1919 Léopoldville I
1920 Léopoldville I
1921 Léopoldville I
1922 CS Léo I
1923 CS Léo I
1924 Union
1925 Union
1926 Union
1927 Mutuel
1928 Congo Club
1929 Union
1930 Union
1931 Standard
1932 Union
1933 Union
1934 Etoile
1935 Union
1936 Union
1937 Renaissance
1938 Renaissance
1939 Standard
1940 Diable Rouge
1941 Siècle
1942 Victoria Club    
1943 Daring           
1944 Nomades
1945 Daring
1946 Victoria Club
1947 Victoria Club
1948 Daring
1949 Daring
1950 Victoria Club

NB: Victoria Club now known as Vita Club or V. Club
    Daring now known as DC Motema Pembe

Léopoldville 1933

The league was contested by 5 clubs: 
Union (champions), Standaert, Etoile, Excelsior, Renaissance

Zaire regional champions

About this document

Partial sources: [Vel 01], [Tra 02].

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 20 Feb 2014

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2003/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.