Congo-Kinshasa (DR Congo; formerly Zaire) Champions

Stanley Pool Championship 1923-1950
Léopoldville 1918-1950
Ligue de Football de Katanga 1925-1950
Regional Championships within Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire

Championship of Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire/DR Congo

1958    FC St.-Eloi (Lubumbashi)
1959-62    unknown
1963    CS Imana (Kinshasa)    
1964    CS Imana (Kinshasa)    
1965    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1966    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi) 
1967    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi)
1968    FC St.-Eloi (Lubumbashi)
1969    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi)
1970    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1971    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1972    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1973    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1974    CS Imana (Kinshasa)
1975    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1976    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi)
1977    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1978    CS Imana (Kinshasa)
1979    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1980    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1981    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1982    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1983    SM Sanga Balende (Mbuji-Mayi)
1984    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1985    US Tshinkunku (Kananga)
1986    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1987    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi)
1988    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1989    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)
1990    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1991    SCOM Mikishi (Lubumbashi)
1992    US Bilombe (Bilombe)
1993    AS Vita (Kinshasa)
1994    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)   
1995    AS Bantous (Mbuji Mayi)
1996    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
1997    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
LINAFOOT (Ligue Nationale de Football)
1998    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)
1999    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2000    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2001    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2002    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
2003    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2004    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2005    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2006    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2007    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2008    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2009    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2010    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2011    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2012    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2013    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2014    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2015    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2016    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2017    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2018    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2019    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 

NB: championships organised by the Ligue Nationale de Football (1990, 1991
    and those since 1998) in bold face

Total number of titles (58; LINAFOOT titles (24) between brackets):

17 (12) TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) [includes TP Englebert]

14 ( 4) AS Vita Club (Kinshasa) [*1]

12 ( 5) DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa) [includes CS Imana] [*2]

 6 ( 2) FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi) [includes FC St.-Eloi] 

 4      AS Bilima (Kinshasa) [includes Dragons]

 1 ( 1) Mikishi (Lubumbashi)
 1      AS Bantous (Mbuji-Mayi) 
 1      US Bilombe (Bilombe) 
 1      SM Sanga Balende (Mbuji-Mayi)  [SM=Sa Majesté] 
 1      US Tshinkunku (Kananga) 

[*1] until the end of the 2002 season, AS Vita had won 24 championships
     in the Kinshasa league, twice the Challenge Papa Kalala (1982-1989),
     apparently entitling them to enter the African Cup Winners Cup (this
     must refer to their cup wins 1982 and 1983), and eleven times the
     Coupe du Congo (entitling the winners to enter the African Champions
     Cup between 1964 and 1989 as well as from 1992 to 1995 (with the losing
     finalists entering the Cup Winners Cup apart from the period 1982-1989?)
     and entitling the winners to enter the African Cup Winners Cup in 1990,
     1991 and since 1998(?) (with the introduction of the Coupe de la LINAFOOT).
[*2] DC Motema Pembe won the Challenge Papa Kalala twice (this must refer
     to their cup wins 1984 (as Imana) and 1985) and the Coupe de
     L'Independance three times.  They were forced to change name from Imana
     to Motema Pembe in 1985 by CAF following crowd trouble in their African
     Cup Winners Cup match against Dragons de l'Ouémé; in 2007 it was
     reported that they had been champions of Congo 9 times in addition to
     their 4 LINAFOOT titles (implying 2 titles are missing).

Regional Championships within Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire

About this document

Sources: [Oli 95], [Ric 99].

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 23 May 2019

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2019
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.