New Zealand 1948

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eastern Suburbs AFC
 2.North Shore United AFC 
   other participants not known

 1.Waterside AFC        13  21p
 2.Institute Old Boys   14  18p
 3.Seatoun AFC          14  17p 
 4.Marist Brothers      14  15p
 5.Diamond FC           13  10p
 6.Railways             14  10p
 7.Hospital FC Porirua  14  10p
 8.Stop Out             14   9p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western


Winner: Mosgiel  

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier HSOB


Winner: Nelson United  

South Canterbury

Winner: Fisherman 


Winner: Invercargill United  


Winner: Stratford 


Winner: Rotowaro     


Winner: Wanganui Athletic 

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eastern Suburbs               
Wellington          ?       Waterside       
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Technical OB       
Otago               ?       Roslyn-Wakari

Basin Reserve, Wellington 
Technical Old Boys 2-0 Waterside 
 [O'Malley, Thomas] 

Technical: Ray Davey, Maurice Dean, Ernie Harris, Earl Mason, Vic Smith, 
Jim Cook, Don Grieve, John MacLennan, Colin Bailey, Peter O'Malley, 
Cyril Thomas 
Waterside: Alex Healey, Pal Harris, Bob Bolton, Eric Wheatley, Phil 
Traynor, Bob Cullen, Joey Pledger, Tom Walker, Bob McKinley, Wally 
Mildenhall, Toby Janes 

Referee: A. Aspen (Wellington)
Attendance: 3 000 



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 9 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.