New Zealand 1954

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt Albert GSOB   
   Eden AFC
   Ponsonby AFC
   Grey Lynn Comrades	
   Pt Chevalier


 1.Stop Out             14  22p
 2.Hospital FC Porirua  14  20p
 3.Petone AFC           14  18p
 4.Victoria University  14  16p
 5.Marist Brothers OB   14  15p
 6.Seatoun AFC          14  15p
 7.Railways             14   5p
 8.Diamond FC           14   1p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Mangakino United


Winner: Millerton Thistle 

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Hastings Wanderers  


Winner: Palmerston North United


Winner: Settlers


Winner: Otangarei United 

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Northern Hearts 


Winner: Brigadiers  


Winner: Old Boys


Winner: Huntly Thistle      


Winner: ? 


Winner: New Settlers 

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Onehunga
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Wanderers
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wellington          ?       Stop Out
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Woodbourne (Marlborough)
Canterbury          ?       Western
Otago               ?       Northern

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Onehunga 1-0 Western
 [McCullough 74']

Onehunga: Tony Holt, Charlie Ackland, Eddie Alexander, Harry Precious,
Jesse Bingham, Arne Rasmussen, Ernie Shepherd, Dave Weedall, Tom
McNicholl, Rod McCullough, Gerald Textor.
Western: Sam Guillen, Frank Bradley, Fred Haydon, Cliff Banham, Tony
Laftey, Stan Ralph, Mike Shardlow, John Longmuir, Peter Cole, John
White, Peter Saunderson.

Referee: P. George (Otago)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.