New Zealand 1955

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Mt. Albert GSOB
   North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   other participants not known


 1.Stop Out             14  25p
 2.Petone AFC           13  18p
 3.Seatoun AFC          13  13p
 4.Miramar Rangers      14  13p
 5.Marist Brothers OB   14  13p
 6.Victoria University  11  10p
 7.Hospital FC Porirua  13   9p
 8.Railways             14   5p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: KETCOB

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Mangakino United


Winner: Millerton Thistle 

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers   


Winner: Kiwi United (new name for Palmerston North United)


Winner: Motueka


Winner: Otangarei United 

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: West End  


Winner: Invercargill Thistle   


Winner: Old Boys


Winner: Huntly Thistle      


Winner: ? 


Winner: Wanganui Athletic  

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eastern Suburbs
Waikato             ?       Huntly Thistle
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       New Plymouth Old Boys
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Athletic
Manawatu            ?       Kiwi Utd
Wairarapa           ?       Masterton Athletic
Wellington          ?       Victoria University
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Western
Otago               ?       Roslyn Wakari

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Western 6-2 Eastern Suburbs
 [Saunderson 3, White, Davis, Ralph - Anderson, King]

Western: Jan Voogt, Fred Haydon, Mike Shardlow, John Longmuir, Tony
Laffey, Stan Ralph, Peter Cole, Alex Davis, John White, Ken Olley, Peter
Eastern Suburbs: George Poulus, Tim Cooper, Leo Twiname, Bob McLuckie,
Geoff Walker, Jim Connew, Bert Azzara, John Wrathall, Reg King, Ken
Fleet, Murray Anderson.

Referee: R.H. Scott (Wellington)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.