New Zealand 1957

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eastern Suburbs AFC
   other participants not known


First Round

 1.Seatoun AFC           9  14p
 2.Diamond FC            9  13p
 3.Stop Out              9  12p
 4.Miramar Rangers AFC   9  12p
 5.Marist Brothers OB    9  12p
 6.Victoria University   9  10p
 7.Petone AFC            9   6p
 8.Western Suburbs       9   5p
 9.Northern              9   4p
10.Upper Hutt            9   2p

Venus Shield

 1.Seatoun AFC          12  18p
 2.Miramar Rangers AFC  12  18p
 3.Stop Out             12  14p
 4.Diamond FC           12  13p 

FA Trophy

 5.Marist Brothers OB   14  20p
 6.Western Suburbs AFC  14  15p
 7.Victoria University  14  12p
 8.Petone AFC           14  12p
 9.Northern             14   8p
10.Upper Hutt           14   2p

Full tables can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: KETCOB

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Rangers


Winner: Millerton Thistle 

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Hastings Wanderers     


Winner: Ohakea 


Winner: Blenheim Rangers 


Winner: Athletic  


Winner: Otangarei United   

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Northern Hearts   


Winner: Hotspurs   


Winner: City


Winner: Huntly Thistle      


Winner: Masterton Athletic   


Winner: New Settlers 

Chatham Cup:  

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eastern Suburbs
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Technical OB
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kawerau Town
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Colenso Athletic
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Athletic
Wairarapa           ?       Masterton Athletic
Wellington          ?       Seatoun
South Island:
Canterbury          ?       Technical OB
Otago               ?       Green Island

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Seatoun 3-1 Technical Old Boys
 [Logan 2, Goddard - McAnulty]

Seatoun: Bert Hiddlestone, William King, Ronald Jeffery, Jack Metcalf,
Brian Fletcher, Keith Gibson, Neil Kerr, Robert O'Brien, Stanley
Goddard, Ron Kearns, William Logan.
Technical: Keith Sanders, Colin Spinks, Maurice Dean, Dennis Charlton,
Jim Hunter, Ian Drewitt, Albert Gardenbroek, Vic Smith, Ted Charlton,
Andy McAnulty, Ernie Fields.

Referee: C.G. Edwards (Auckland)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.