Benin - List of Champions

NB: see below for additional information for 1949-1959 (prior to independence)

1969    FAD (Cotonou)
1970    AS Porto-Novo (Porto-Novo)
1971    AS Cotonou (Cotonou)
1972    AS Porto-Novo (Porto-Novo)
1973    AS Porto-Novo (Porto-Novo)
1974    Etoile Sportive (Porto-Novo)
1975      no competition
1976      no competition
1977      no competition
1978    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1979    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1980    Buffles de Borgou (Parakou)
1981    Ajijas (Cotonou)
1982    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1983    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1984    Lions de l'Atakory (Cotonou)
1985    Requins de l'Atlantique (Cotonou)
1986    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1987    Requins de l'Atlantique (Cotonou)
1988      no competition
1989    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1990    Requins de l'Atlantique (Cotonou)
1991    Postel Sport (Porto-Novo)
1992    Buffles de Borgou (Parakou)
1993    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1994    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1995    Toffa (Cotonou)
1996    Mogas 90 (Porto Novo)
1997    Mogas 90 (Porto Novo)
1998    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
1999    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)  [mini tournoi]
2000      no official championship
2001      no official championship
2001/02 Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
2003    Dragons de l'Ouémé (Porto-Novo)
2004      abandoned
2005/06 Mogas 90 (Porto Novo)
2007    Tonnerre d'Abomey FC
2008/09   transitional championship, declared invalid
2009/10 ASPAC (Cotonou)
2010/11   abandoned
2011/12 ASPAC (Cotonou)
2012/13 Jeunesse Athlétique du Plateau (Pobè)
2013/14 Buffles de Borgou (Parakou)
2014/15   abandoned
2016      abandoned
2017    Buffles de Borgou (Parakou)

Number of Championships (36)

12 Dragons de l'Ouémé

 4 Buffles de Borgou   

 3 Mogas 90 de la Sonacop FC
   AS Porto-Novo 
   Requins de l'Atlantique

 2 ASPAC (Cotonou) 

 1 Ajijas 
   AS Cotonou 
   Jeunesse Athlétique du Plateau (Pobè)
   Lions de l'Atakory 
   Postel Sport 
   Tonnerre d'Abomey FC

NB: ASPAC = Association Sportive du Port Autonome de Cotonou

Between 1949 and 1959, one club from Benin reached the 1/8 finals of the Coupe d'AOF;
it is possible these clubs were considered the "national" champions of the territory at
the time:

1949    Etoile Sportive (Porto-Novo)
1950      not known
1951    Etoile Sportive (Porto-Novo)
1952    AS Porto-Novo
1953    Etoile Sportive (Porto-Novo)
1954    AS Porto-Novo
1955    AS Porto-Novo
1956    Essor de Porto-Novo
1957      not known
1958    Alliance Sportive (Cotonou)
1959    Alliance Sportive (Cotonou)  

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo and Eric Boesenberg for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Julio Bovi Diogo ( and Eric Boesenberg (
Last updated: 22 Nov 2018

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo, Eric Boesenberg and RSSSF 1996/2018
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.