Iran - List of Champions

The first real national football clubs league in Iran started in 1970. In addition champions for 1960 (Shahin FC), 1962 (Daraei FC) and 1967 and 1968 (both Paas) are reported but those competitions were not national. All these clubs were from Tehran.

Regional League

1970    Taj 
1971    Perspolis (Tehran)
1972      not held

Takhte Jamshid League

1973    Perspolis (Tehran)
1974    Taj (Tehran)
1975    Perspolis (Tehran)
1976    Paas (Tehran)
1977    Paas (Tehran)
1978      not completed due to revolution


No national championships were held, only regional ones and
competitions for district selections in 1985 and 1989 (both
won by Tehran) as well as the Herdah-Shahrivar League 1988
(winners Perspolis).

Qods League

1989/90 Esteghlal (Tehran)

Azadegan League

1991    Paas (Tehran)
1992    Paas (Tehran)
1993    Saipa (Tehran)
1994    Saipa (Tehran)              [4]
1995/96 Perspolis (Tehran)
1996/97 Perspolis (Tehran)
1997/98 Esteghlal (Tehran)
1998/99 Perspolis (Tehran)
1999/00 Perspolis (Tehran)
2000/01 Esteghlal (Tehran)

Iran Premier League

2001/02 Perspolis (Tehran)
2002/03 Sepahan (Isfahan) 
2003/04 Paas (Tehran)
2004/05 Foolad (Ahvaz) 
2005/06 Esteghlal (Tehran)
2006/07 Saipa (Tehran)
2007/08 Perspolis (Tehran)
2008/09 Esteghlal (Tehran)
2009/10 Sepahan (Isfahan) 
2010/11 Sepahan (Isfahan) 
2011/12 Sepahan (Isfahan) 
2012/13 Esteghlal (Tehran)
2013/14 Foolad (Ahvaz) 
2014/15 Sepahan (Isfahan) 
2015/16 Esteghlal Khuzestan (Ahvaz)


[1] Shahin FC were dissolved on July 6, 1967; its players moved to Perspolis
    (founded 1963).
[2] Perspolis was renamed Piroozi in 1986 but returned to the 'old' name 
    later, which always was used in preference to Piroozi in Iran itself.
[3] Taj changed name to Esteghlal in 1979.
[4] Esteghlal were runners-up.

Number of Titles (33: 26 since 1989, 7 before)

  9  Perspolis (Tehran)     (3 before 1989) 

  8  Esteghlal (Tehran)     (2 before 1989) (includes Taj)

  5  Paas (Tehran)          (2 before 1989)
     Sepahan (Isfahan) 

  3  Saipa (Tehran)

  2  Foolad (Ahvaz) 

  1  Esteghlal Khuzestan (Ahvaz)

NB: Saipa play home matches in Karadj since 2001, but the club's
      administration and training facilities remained in Tehran;
    Paas sold their license to Alvand Hamedan for the 2007/08
      season and dissolved

About this document

Corrections thanks to Milad Niqui ( and Asghar Zarei (

Prepared and maintained by Hooshyar F. Naraghi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hooshyar F. Naraghi
Last updated: 19 May 2016

(C) Copyright Hooshyar F. Naraghi and RSSSF 1996/2016
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.