Iraq - List of Champions

Baghdad League (Iraq Central FA league)

The Iraq FA was formed in 1948 with a central Football Association in Baghdad and branches in the provinces of Kirkuk and Basra and there were leagues in each of these provinces. The winners below are from the Baghdad League or Iraq FA Central League. The league started on November 5, 1948.

In 1956 the format of the Iraqi Central FA or Baghdad League was changed to a cup competition. In 1961 it returned to a league format. From 1948 to 1973 it was the same competition.

League Format
1948/49   Haris Al-Maliki
1949/50   Haris Al-Maliki
1950/51   Haris Al-Maliki
1951/52   Haris Al-Maliki
1952/53   Haris Al-Maliki
1953/54   Haris Al-Maliki
1954/55   Haris Al-Maliki
1955/56   Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya
NB: in 1949 an additional national tournament was held involving the best
    sides from Baghdad, Kirkuk and Basra, won by Sharakat Nafat Al-Basra.
Cup Format (aka Iraqi FA Cup Championship)
1956/57   Al-Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab 
1957/58   Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya 
1958/59   Amana Al-Asama 
1959/60   Nadi Athori                      [aka Assyrian SC]
1960/61   Al-Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab 
NB: see also FA Cup tournament after 1972.
League of the Institutes (Dawr Foroq Al-Muassasat) of Baghdad
1961/62   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
1962/63   Madrasa Al-Shurta
1963/64   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
1964/65   Al-Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab 
1965/66   Al-Farqa Al-Thalatha
1966/67     abandoned after Six-Day War in June 1967  
1967/68   Aliyat Al-Shurta
1968/69   Aliyat Al-Shurta           
1969/70   Aliyat Al-Shurta
1970/71   Al-Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab 
1971/72   Aliyat Al-Shurta
1972/73   Al-Tayaran (= Al-Quwa Al-Jawia)  [*1]

[*1] due to preparations for the 1974 World Cup qualifying competition, the league was
     played as a single round robin.

League of the Institutes (Dawr Foroq Al-Muassasat) of Iraq 1973/74

1973/74   Al-Tayaran

League of Iraqi Clubs

1974/75   Al-Tayaran
1975/76   Al-Zawra
1976/77   Al-Zawra                        [*2]
1977/78   Al-Mina
1978/79   Al-Zawra
1979/80   Al-Shurta
1980/81   Al-Talaba
1981/82   Al-Talaba
1982/83   Salah-Al-Deen
1983/84   Al-Jaish 
1984/85     abandoned
1985/86   Al-Talaba
1986/87   Al-Rasheed
1987/88   Al-Rasheed
1988/89   Al-Rasheed
1989/90   Al-Tayaran
1990/91   Al-Zawra
1991/92   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
1992/93   Al-Talaba 
1993/94   Al-Zawra
1994/95   Al-Zawra
1995/96   Al-Zawra
1996/97   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
1997/98   Al-Shurta
1998/99   Al-Zawra
1999/00   Al-Zawra
Premier League (Dawri Al-Nokba)
2000/01   Al-Zawra
2001/02   Al-Talaba 
2002/03     abandoned                     [*3]
2003/04     abandoned
2004/05   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
2005/06   Al-Zawra
2006/07   Arbil
2007/08   Arbil
2008/09   Arbil
2009/10   Duhok
2010/11   Al-Zawra
2011/12   Arbil
2012/13   Al-Shurta
2013/14     abandoned                     [*4]
2014/15   Nafit Al-Wasat
2015/16   Al-Zawra
2016/17   Al-Quwa Al-Jawia 
2017/18   Al-Zawra

[*2] due to Iraq's fixtures in the FIFA World Youth Cup and CISM World Military
     Championship, the league was played as a single round robin.
[*3] league abandoned during second half of the season; Al-Shurta were leading the
     standings at the halfway stage but no champions were named.
[*4] the league was abandoned on June 18, with about three quarters of the matches
     played, due to war situation in the country; the Iraqi FA used the standings
     on June 18 to determine access to AFC competitions, with first-placed Al-Shurta
     and second-placed Arbil being admitted to the 2015 AFC Cup; no champions were
     named and relegation was suspended for the season.

Number of Titles (40; since 1974/75)

 14  Al-Zawra (Baghdad)

  6  Al-Quwa Al-Jawia (Baghdad) [includes Al-Tayaran]

  5  Al-Talaba (Baghdad)

  4  Arbil (Arbil)

  3  Al-Rasheed (Baghdad)
     Al-Shurta (Baghdad) [does not include 2002/03 or 2013/14]

  1  Duhok (Duhok)
     Al-Jaish (Baghdad) 
     Al-Mina (Basra)
     Nafit Al-Wasat (Najaf)
     Salah-Al-Deen (Tikrit)

Notes on team names:

Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya (Air Force) renamed Al-Tayaran (Airlines) in 1968 and reverted
  to Air Force at the beginning of season 1991-92;
Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab (Passenger Transport Department);
Fareeka Al-Thalatha (Third Battalion) renamed Salah-Al-Deen in 1973 and next season
  merged with Al-Jaish (Army);
Al-Jamiaa (University) renamed Al-Talaba (Students) in 1978;
Al-Shurta (Police) were named Quwat Al-Emen Al-Dakhili (Internal Security Forces)
  in 1984;
Al-Rasheed renamed Al-Karkh at the beginning in 1991;
Baladiyat (Municipalities) renamed Amana in 1977;
Iktisad renamed Tijara (Trade) in 1978;
Wahid Huzairan (First of June) renamed Kirkuk;
The Kurdish name for the city of Arbil is Hawlar.

About this document

Thanks to Atsushi Fujioka and Refel Hashim

Prepared and maintained by Hassanin Mubarak for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hassanin Mubarak
Last updated: 28 Mar 2019

(C) Copyright Hassanin Mubarak and RSSSF 1996/2019
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.