Cape Verde Islands - List of Champions

before independence
Year    Champions                                        Runners-Up

1939    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1940-48    not known
1949    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1950    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1951-52    not known
1953	Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]            2-0 Vitória FC (Praia) [Santiago]
1954-55    no competition
1956	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1957-59	   no competition
1960	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                  bt  CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]  
1961    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]
1962    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1963	FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]               3-0 Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]
1964	Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]            2-0 Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]	
1965	Académica da Praia [Santiago]
1966	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1967	Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]            2-0 CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]  
1968	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                  bt  CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]  
1969    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]
1970	   no competition
1971	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]
1972	CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]	2-2  1-0 Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]
1973    GS Castilho (Mindelo) [São Vicente]          1-0 Vitória (Praia) [Santiago]
1974    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]           2-1 GS Castilho (Mindelo) [São Vicente]

NB: in 2010 it was reported both Sporting Clube da Praia and CD Travadores 
    won 2 championships prior to independence instead of 3 (Sporting) and
    1 (Travadores) respectively as according to the above list

after independence
Year    Champions                                        Runners-Up                                        Coach

1975	   no competition
1976	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                                                                        Alcides Lima (Tchida)
1977	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                                                                        Alcides Lima (Tchida)
1978-79	   no competition
1980	Botafogo (São Filipe) [Fogo]         2-1 aet     CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                       Ronaldo Barber (Zuca)
1981	CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                                                                        Alcides Lima (Tchida)
1982	   no competition
1983    Académica (Sal-Rei) [Boa Vista]      2-0         CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                       Euclides Costa (Kakito)
1984    Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]     3-2 on pen  Académica (Espargos) [Sal)                        Box, Abel and Ducha
1985    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                                                                 Victor Lobo (Tó Lobo)
1986       no competition
1987    FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]                                                                     Gil Fernandes (Tchibita)
1988    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]          2-0 0-1     Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                Alcides Lima (Tchida) and Ricardino da Luz (Cadino)
1989    Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]                                                                  Armando Soares (Armandin)
1990    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                                                                        Alberto Gomes [Guinea-Bissau]
1991    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                                                                 Victor Lobo (Tó Lobo)
1992    CS Mindelense [São Vicente]                      CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]                  Alberto Gomes [Guinea-Bissau]
1993    Académica (Espargos) [Sal]           2-2 2-1     FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]                    Djoy Rocha
1994    CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]     2-0 2-1     SC Atlético [São Nicolau]                         Victor Lobo (Tó Lobo)
1995    FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]                                                                     Inácio Carvalho (Bala)
1996    CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]                                                                   Óscar Duarte
1997    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   0-0 1-1     CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [São Vicente]             José Antunes (Tóca)
1998    CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [São Vicente]                                                              Luís Oliveira (Baessa) and Almerindo de Jesus (Almara)
1999    GD Amarante (Mindelo) [São Vicente]  2-0 1-1     Vulcânicos (São Filipe [Fogo]                     Armando Soares (Armandin)
2000    Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]     1-1 1-0     Académica Operária (Sal-Rei) [Boa Vista]          Alcides Lima (Tchida)
2001    Onze Unidos (Vila de Maio) [Maio]                                                                  Odílio Neves
2002    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                                                                 Victor Lobo (Tó Lobo)
2003    Académico do Sal (Sal) [Sal]         3-1 3-2     FC Ultramarina (Tarrafal) [São Nicolau]           Djoy Rocha
2004    Sal-Rei FC (Sal-Rei) [Boa Vista]     2-0 1-2     Académica da Praia [Santiago]                     Djô Brocô
2005    Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]     1-1 4-3     Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                Luís Oliveira (Baessa) 
2006    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   1-0 2-2     Académico do Aeroporto (Espargos) [Sal]           Felisberto Cardoso (Beto)	
2007    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   0-0 1-1     Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]                 Felisberto Cardoso (Beto)	
2008    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   0-1 3-0     Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]                  Felisberto Cardoso (Beto)	
2009    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   2-0 1-1     Académica da Praia [Santiago]                     Felisberto Cardoso (Beto)	
2010    FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]       2-0 1-0     Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                Janito Carvalho 
2011    CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [S. Vicente] 1-0 0-0     Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]                Almerindo de Jesus (Almara) 
2012    Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]   0-0 1-1     Sport Club Atlético (Ribeira Brava) [São Nicolau] Janito Carvalho 
2013    CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [S. Vicente] 3-0 2-2     Académica do Porto Novo [Santo Antão do Sul]      Pedro Brito (Bubista)
2014    CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [S. Vicente] 2-1 0-0     Académica do Fogo (São Filipe) [Fogo]             Rui Alberto Leite
2015    CS Mindelense (Mindelo) [S. Vicente] 1-1 1-1     Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]        [4-3 pen]               

Number of wins (since independence (36); before independence (19 known) between brackets)

11 ( 9) CS Mindelense [São Vicente]  

 9 ( 3) Sporting Clube da Praia [Santiago]

 3 ( 1) FC Boavista (Praia) [Santiago]	
 3      Derby FC (Mindelo) [São Vicente]

 2 ( 1) CD Travadores (Praia) [Santiago]	

 1 ( 3) Académica (Mindelo) [São Vicente]
 1      Académica (Espargos) [Sal]	
 1      Académica (Sal-Rei) [Boa Vista]	
 1      Académico do Sal (Sal) [Sal]
 1      GD Amarante (Mindelo) [São Vicente]
 1      Botafogo (São Filipe) [Fogo]
 1      Onze Unidos (Vila de Maio) [Maio]
 1      Sal-Rei FC (Sal-Rei) [Boa Vista]

   ( 1) Académica da Praia [Santiago]
   ( 1) Castilho (Mindelo) [São Vicente]

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Batalha for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Batalha (
Last updated: 15 Oct 2015

(C) Copyright José Batalha and RSSSF 1997/2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.