Sri Lanka - List of Champions

National League (since 1985)

1985    Saunders SC
1986    Saunders SC
1987    Saunders SC
1988    Old Bens SC
1989    Saunders SC
1990    Renown SC [other source: Ratnams SC]
1991    Saunders SC
1992    Saunders SC
1993    Renown SC [other source: Ratnams SC]
1994    Renown SC
1995    Pettah United SC
1996    Saunders SC
1997    Saunders SC
1997/98 Ratnams SC
1998/99 Saunders SC
1999/00 Ratnams SC
2000/01 Saunders SC
2001/02 Saunders SC
2002/03 Negombo Youth SC
2003    Blue Star SC
2004/05 Saunders SC
2005/06 Negombo Youth SC
2006/07 Ratnams SC
2007/08 Ratnams SC
2008/09 Army SC
2009/10 Renown SC
2010/11 Don Bosco SC
2011/12 Ratnams SC
2013    Air Force SC
2014/15 Solid SC
2015    Colombo FC

Number of Titles (31)

12 Saunders SC (Colombo)

 5 Ratnams SC (Colombo)

 4 Renown SC (Colombo) 

 2 Negombo Youth SC (Negombo)
 1 Air Force SC
   Army SC (Colombo) 
   Blue Star SC (Kalutara)
   Colombo FC
   Don Bosco SC (Negombo)
   Old Bens SC (Colombo)
   Pettah United SC (Colombo) 
   Solid SC (Anuradhapura)   

Regional Leagues

Colombo City League

NB: founded 1911 as Colombo Association Football League, renamed Colombo Football League
    for 1920/21 season; some of the earliest known Colombo football clubs in that time
    were St. Michaelís SC, Chums SC, CH & FC, Police, the Ceylon Light Infantry (CLI), 
    Bloomfield Club, Colombo Rovers and the Ramblers.       

1911    Royal Artillery 

1932    Saunders SC 
1933    Saunders SC 

1941    Hyde Park XI [championship known as De Mel League Championship]

1943    Hyde Park XI
1944    Saunders SC 

1949    Saunders SC 

1953    Sunrise SC

1957    Old Bens SC
1958    Old Bens SC
1959/60 Victory SC

1962    Red Lions SC   
1963    Victory SC
1964    Victory SC

1967    Army SC  [beat Colombo 4-2 in final on Oct 25; reportedly for "National Soccer Championship"]

1985    Ratnams SC
1986    Ratnams SC
1987    Ratnams SC
1988    Ratnams SC

NB: missing years unknown; the 1911 edition was apparently the first as
    a tournament was organised by the Colombo Football League on the
    occasion of the 94th anniversary of its formation.

Kandy City League

NB: founded 1925 as Kandy Amateur Football League [KAFL], later called 
    Kandy District League, which also served football in Matale, Gampola, 
    Nawalapitya, Kurunegala and Kegalle. (Later these towns formed their 
    own leagues.)  Some of the leading clubs in the early 1930s were
    Old Antonians SC, Old Kingswoodians SC, Police SC, YMCA, YMMA Kandy,
    Greenfield SC, Rovers SC, Phoenix SC, Kandy Sports Club and Red Stars SC.  

1925    Antonian's [aka St. Anthony's College]

1928    Old Antonians SC 
1929    Old Antonians SC 
1930    Old Antonians SC 

2002    York SC

NB: Old Antonians SC were founded 1927 as successor club of Antonian's;
    champions missing years unknown

About this document

With thanks to Erlan Manaschev and Neil Morrison

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 10 Dec 2015

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1999/2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.